Skip to Main Content
refer_resources
- Beef Cattle
Kansas State University Libraries, part of the Agricultural Network Information Center (AgNIC) -- Annotated links to web resources on beef cattle
- Breeds of Livestock
Oklahoma State University -- Information about cattle, horses, goats, swine, and other sepcies
- Large Animal Topics
American College of Veterinary Surgeons -- Provides background, clinical signs, risk factors, diagnostic procedures, and when to seek professional help for many conditions. Aimed at clients, but offers a good overview.
- Wildfinder Database
The WildFinder application enables users to visualize global distribution of animal species based on the WWF terrestrial ecoregion maps. Users can search for species by place name (e.g., city name), ecoregion, or species names (common or scientific). They can also browse and print ecoregion-based thematic maps. The WildFinder database currently includes four taxa: mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and birds.
- ICTV Official Taxonomy
The Universal Virus Database of the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses -- Large virus database.
- Canadian Poisonous Plants Information Service
Canadian Biodiversity Information Facility -- Browse over 230 plants by botanical or common name to find well-organized records that contain references. A unique search engine allows one to search across all plant records in an organized fashion. Despite a natural bias towards Canadian plants, this is a high quality site.
- Plants Toxic to Animals
Illinois -- This site provides brief records for about 70 plants with information on their distribution, how to control, toxic principles, and clinical signs.
- Plants Poisonous to Livestock and Other Animals
Cornell -- Offers very brief records for over 80 plants along with references. The links for commonly affected species is the best feature.
- Poisonous Plants of the southeastern United States
The Alabama Cooperative Extension System offers a free online publication that presents 57 poisonous plants found in the southeast. It includes pictures of the plant and information on toxicity, symptoms, and treatment.
- TOXNET
National Library of Medicine -- These toxicology databases are searched simultaneously. It is best to search by chemical type, but keyword searching on the animal species and plant name can also be effective, especially in TOXLINE (which indexes the scientific toxicological literature)
- FDA Poisonous Plant Database
The Poisonous Plant database provides access to references in the scientific literature (primarily print literature through about 2007) describing studies and reports of the toxic properties and effects of plants and plant parts.
- Textbook of Small Animal Orthopaedics
Penn, Veterinary College -- Contains the entire contents of the Textbook of Small Animal Orthopaedics by Charles D. Newton, D.V.M., M.S. and David M. Nunamaker, V.M.D.
- American Kennel Club: Breed
In addition to extensive information on over 150 breeds, this site also provides advice on health, training, and how to be a responsible dog owner.
- Cat Fanciers' Association: Breeds
In addtion to pet owner information, there are profiles, standards, articles, and links for 42 cat breeds. Profiles cover each breed's history, characteristics, and personality. Articles look at the history of each breed.
- Deafness in Dogs and Cats
George M. Strain, Louisiana State University -- Information on deafness prevalence, causes, and management.
- Feline Health Center
Cornell University -- Devoted to improving the health and well-being of cats everywhere, this site offers general information and in-depth health topics for pet owners (under Health Information).
- Exotics Radiology
Penn -- Click on "Plucky" the parrot for six exotics case studies and normal radigraphs for birds, ferrets, rabbits, turtles, and iguanas.
- Small Animal Radiology Cases
Penn -- Four brief case studies
- Radiology
Kansas State -- Over 30 "Case of the Week", each with the presenting complaint, a physical examination, hematological findings, one or more radiographs, and an interpretation.
- Ultrasound Videos
NC State's Channel on YouTube! -- Over 40 short (15-30 second) ultrasound videos
- Clinical Pathology Modules
Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine -- An easy to navigate online text book that covers hemogram basics, hematology atlas, routine urinalsis, unine sediment atlas, clinical chemistry, red cell morphology and hemostasis.
- Necropsy Show and Tell
John M. King, DVM, Cornell University -- Large necroscopy database that can be search by keyword, species, tissue, etiologic DX, morphologic DX, or lesion name. Includes randomly generated quizes.
- Common Eye Diseases
This client-oriented site provides brief descriptions of 17 common eye diseases.
- Veterinary Ophthalmology Information Centre
Zigler Veterinary Professional Corporation, Canada -- Summarizes 9 dog eye diseases, 6 cat eye diseases, and 6 general eye diseases: blindness, cataracts, corneal ulcers, dry eye, Horner's Syndrom, and lens luxation.
- Consultant
Cornell -- This diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine covers roughly 7,000 diseases of 8 species (avian is the only exotic). It also functions as an online textbooks when searched by diagnosis. It selectively indexes 70 veterinary medical journals for clinical practice articles
- Computer Aided Learning
University of Pennsylvania, School of Veterinary Medicine -- Extensive course-related online learning resources are organized by broad categories: animal biology, large animal, pathobiology, reproductive pathology, and small animal. Many of these are also listed under specific topics.
- Merck Veterinary Manual
The online version of this classic veterinary handbook features images, videos, and audio files on many topics including rare disease-causing organisms, poisonous plants, characteristic lesions, and practical laboratory techniques.
- Veterinary Abbreviations & Acronyms Guide
University of Illinois
- Veterinary Information Network (VIN)
VIN offers interactive message boards, clinical updates, VIN rounds, practice management tools, clinical calculators, veterinary news, drug information, an online library, and more. Access is free for Veterinary students, staff, and faculty.
- Histology -- human
University of Ottawa, Faculty of Medicine -- Information and images for histology of human tissues and organs
- JayDoc HistoWeb -- human
University of Kansas Medical Center -- Histology atlas with succinct explanations of the tissues to guide the first-year medical student in the use of their microscope (best viewed in FireFox)
- Mammalian Histology
University of Delaware -- Many color microscope images and black and white electron microscope images from a course that emphasizes human tissues and organ systems.
- Microscopy Resource Center
Olympus -- This site provies information and interactive tutorials on a variety of microscopic techniques. The FAQ on microscopy is worth a visit.
- Veterinary Histology
University of Pennsylvania -- Extensive collection of slides (with labels) for tissue types and organ systems. Images and magnified images load quickly.
- Veterinary Histology
Virginia Tech, Dr. Thomas Caceci -- Lecture and laboratory notes for VM8054, a course on animal histology and microscopic anatomy of organs.
- Maryland Small Ruminant Page
Susan Schoenian, University of Maryland Extension Sheep & Goat Specialist -- This is an extensive information portal for sheep and goat producers and anyone else interested in small ruminants.
- Onion Creek Ranch Tennessee Meat Goats
This website provides many articles on goat health, nutrition, and management. Although aimed at farmers, the articles are good introductions.
- Ferret Pathology Notes
Bruce H. Williams (DVM), Armed Forces Institute of Pathology -- This site discusses pathology of the domestic ferret and provides references to the literature.
- Pathology of the Domestic Ferret
Bruce H. Williams (DVM), Armed Forces Institute of Pathology -- Annotated slides on the pathology of the domestic ferret.
- Ferret FAQ
Extensive FAQ on all aspects of ferrets.
- Zoonosis Updates -- AVMA Collection
American Veterinary Medical Association -- A collection of recent JAVMA articles on zoonoses arranged alphabetically by disease.
- Johne's Information Center
University of Wisconsin-Madison -- Information about Johne's Disease in dairy cows, beef cows, goats, sheep, deer, elk, bison, and wildlife.
- Clinical Case Challenge
Tufts University -- Eight small animal cases, each with presentation, diagnosis, and treatment.
- Clinical Problem Solving in Internal Medicine
Ohio State Unversity, Small Animal Medicine Faculty -- Five small animal case studies.
- Emergency Case Simulator
Royal Veterinary College -- Three interactive cannine cases mimic veterinary emergencies.
- Reference Ranges
University of Pennsylvania -- Normal hematological and clinical chemistry values for chelonians, lizards, passerine birds, psittacine birds, rabbits, rodents, and snakes.
- Reference Values for Laboratory Animals
Univeristy of Minnesota -- Normal hematological and clinical chemistry values for dogs, cats, rhesus monkeys, baboons, swine, sheep, cows, rabbits, guini pigs, hamsters, rats, mice, and gerbils.
- AAHA Healthy Pet.com
American Animal Hospital Association -- This site provides advice on choosing and caring for dogs, cats, birds, exotics, and small mammals. There is much general information, including information on characteristics specific breeds.
- AVMA Care for Pets
American Veterinary Medical Association -- Health information, brochures, safety information, and an FAQ are available.
- Small Animal Topics
American College of Veterinary Surgeons -- Provides background, clinical signs, risk factors, diagnostic procedures, and when to seek professional help for many conditions. Aimed at clients, but offers a good overview.
- Large Animal Topics
American College of Veterinary Surgeons -- Provides background, clinical signs, risk factors, diagnostic procedures, and when to seek professional help for many conditions. Aimed at clients, but offers a good overview.
- Pet Education.com
Doctor's Foster & Smith, Inc. -- This commercial site offers many articles on different types of pets, epsecially on pet diseases and conditions.
- Purina Pet Care Center
Purina provides many of short snippets of basic information on choosing, feeding, and caring for a dog or cat. The sections on breeds is especially good. The reading level is at the 6th grade level (like Reader's Digest), making is accessible to all. The health information sections frequently refer the reader to their veterinarian -- as is usually appropriate.
- Veterinary Partner
VIN -- This outstanding, ad-free site offers extensive, dependable, and high quality online pet health information for client education. Keyword search is a good way to search Veterinary Partner, but there are guided tabs (behavior, health, diseases, drugs, pet corner) and links to species.
- Auscultation Library
Colorado State University -- Normal and diseased auscultation sounds for bovine, dogs, and cats. Includes cardiac, respiratory, and abdominal auscultation.
- Case Studies in Small Animal Cardiovascular Medicine
Dr. Mark Kittleson of Cardiology Service at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital (UC-Davis) presents 39 small animal cases with short quizzes to test understanding. Each case gives the signalment, history, physical examination findings, and diagnostic studies as in a rounds session.
- Veterinary Clinical Cardiology
Ontario Veterinary College -- Provides six case studies, drug information and a radiograph database. In the database, click on the link under Radiographic Diagnosis to see to see radiographs.
- Visible Heart
University of Minnesota and Medtronic, Inc. -- Over 60 short vidoes showing different parts of the heart and surgical procedures. Most videos are of human hearts but also 12 swine heart videos.
