Turnitin in English: Home

Turnitin is a web-based plagiarism prevention service designed to compare and check submitted documents for similarity against its database of various academic resources such as scholarly articles, student papers and web pages.
Turnitin provides a report which indicates matching text between a work submitted and another source.

Class ID & Enrollment Key
SNU Library Homepage > Databases > "T" > Turnitin
→ Click "Shortcuts"

※ The class ID and class enrollment key provides authorization to join
   a class on Turnitin. The information is updated every year.

Google Chrome is recommended for optimal performance.

• Student quick start guide
• Feedback Studio for Students
• Student Resources Hub

• Instructor quick start guide
• Feedback Studio for Instructors

• Plagiarism.org

• What is an acceptable percentage when using Turnitin?
  The similarity score does not show the percentage of plagiarized text in a work. The score is a percentage of matching text in a work compared to sources in the Turnitin database. Turnitin should be used as a reference tool to check for areas in a paper highly similar to previously published content, and review those parts to see if they could be problematic. Even if the similarity percentage is high, it is not considered plagiarism when the matching text is common knowledge, or a commonly used phrase in a certain field of study. On the other hand, even if the percentage is low, it may be considered plagiarism when the matching text is an important part of another research.
  Learn more: Interpreting the Similarity Report


• How do I exclude quotes and bibliography from the similarity report?
  On the similarity report, click the red filter-shaped icon from the toolbar. From the Filters and Settings side panel, you can apply filters to exclude quotes and/or bibliography.
  Learn more: Excluding quotes and bibliography


• How do I resubmit, or completely remove a paper on Turnitin?
  There are 10 assignments in the "Seoul National University" class. The assignments are all independent, which means when you upload a paper to the first assignment, then upload a revision to the second assignment, the revised text will not be compared against the original uploaded to the first assignment.
  After you upload a file to an assignment, you can upload another file to the same one for review. The new file will overwrite the previously uploaded file, so the previous file will be removed from the assignment. The similarity report will be generated immediately for the first three resubmission attempts, but from the fourth attempt, you will have to wait 24 hours for a similarity report to be generated.
  Learn more: Submit to an assignment / Resubmitting a paper


• I am trying to set up a new account with my SNU e-mail on Turnitin, but there is already an account associated with my e-mail. How do I find my password?
  When a professor of a course you are taking added all enrolled students to a Turnitin class, an account associated to your SNU e-mail will have been created without any notification. In this case, contact the Research Support Services team (libserv@snu.ac.kr), and a password reset link will be sent to you.
  Learn more: Setting up your account / Trouble Logging In?

 ❏  Learn More : Top 15 Misconceptions About Turnitin