| 115.501 | 미학사연습 1 | |
| 115.504 | 현대미학연습 1 | |
| 115.507 | 미술사론연습 | |
| 115.509 | 음악사론연습 | |
| 115.511 | 고대미학사상연구 | |
| 115.601 | 미학사연습 2 | |
| 115.603 | 현대미학연습 2 | |
| 115.612 | 미술양식론연구 | |
| 115.613 | 미술비평사연구 | |
| 115.615 | 음악사상사연구 | |
| 115.617 | 음악비평사연구 | |
| 115.623 | 예술철학연습 1 | |
| 115.624 | 예술철학연습 2 | |
| 115.626 | 예술학연습 | |
| 115.634 | 중국미학사연구 1 | |
| 115.635 | 중국미학사연구 2 | |
| 115.636 | 중국미학사상연습 | |
| 115.637 | 중국예술론연습 | |
| 115.638 | 현대미학연구 1 | |
| 115.639 | 현대미학연구 2 | |
| 115.640 | 예술철학연구 | |
| 115.641 | 예술학연구 | |
| 115.713 | 미술심리학연습 | |
| 115.714 | 미술사회학연습 | |
| 115.715 | 한국예술론연구 1 | |
| 115.716 | 조형예술론연습 | |
| 115.718 | 미술비평론연습 | |
| 115.719 | 음악미학연구 | |
| 115.720 | 음악비평론연습 | |
| 115.722 | 근대독일미학사상연구 | |
| 115.723 | 근대프랑스미학사상연구 | |
| 115.724 | 비평철학연구 | |
| 115.725 | 근대미학연구 | |
| 115.729 | 음악사회학연습 |
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Literature /
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Literature contains 23 newly commissioned essays by major philosophers and literary scholars that investigate literature as a form of attention to human life. Various forms of attention are considered under the headings of Genres (from Ancient Epic to the Novel and Contemporary Experimental Writing), Periods (from Realism and Romanticism to Postcolonialism), Devices and Powers (Imagination, Plot, Character, Style, and Emotion), and Contexts and Uses (in relation to inquiry, morality, and politics). In each case, the effort is to track and evaluate how specific modes and works of imaginative literature answer to important needs of human subjects for orientation, the articulation of interest in life, and the working through of emotion, within situations that are both sociohistorical and human. Hence these essays show how and why literature matters in manifold ways in and for human cultural life, and they show how philosophers and imaginative literary writers have continually both engaged with and criticized each other.
The Philosophy of Tragedy: From Plato to Žižek /
This book is a full survey of the philosophy of tragedy from antiquity to the present. From Aristotle to Zizek the focal question has been: why, in spite of its distressing content, do we value tragic drama? What is the nature of the 'tragic effect'? Some philosophers point to a certain kind of pleasure that results from tragedy. Others, while not excluding pleasure, emphasize the knowledge we gain from tragedy - of psychology, ethics, freedom or immortality. Through a critical engagement with these and other philosophers, the book concludes by suggesting an answer to the question of what it is that constitutes tragedy 'in its highest vocation'. This book will be of equal interest to students of philosophy and of literature.
본 교과목은 고대로부터 현대에 이르기까지 미와 예술에 관한 이론적 성찰의 역사적 전개와 사상적 발전을 심도 있게 논구하며 특히 고대에 있어서 미 및 예술에 관한 이론적 성찰의 역사적 전개와 사상적 발전에 관해 논구한다.
Sculpture Now /
Here are the most exciting developments in sculpture across theglobe since the mid-1990s. Identifying the key trends, AnnaMoszynska discusses the artists who are forging new paths andsetting the contemporary agenda. She examines major shifts thathave taken place in the last two decades, including the move froma concern with the discrete object to the more complicated anddynamic relationships found in installation-based practice, as wellas the increased concern with the experiential nature of sculptureand the participatory role of the viewer.The world's most promising new talent is discussed alongsideestablished contemporary artists including Cai Guo-Qiang, MaurizioCattelan, Jake and Dinos Chapman, Isa Genzken, Thomas Hirschhorn,Mike Kelley, Christian Marclay, Bruce Nauman, Gabriel Orozco,Doris Salcedo, James Turrell, and Ai Weiwei.
본 교과목은 미술사학의 제관점을 명백히 하고 또 각각의 관점들을비교하며 미술사관을 심층적으로 검토함으로써, 각각의 미술사관 이 지닌 미학적, 철학적 성격을 논구한다.
신학대전. 12 / 
A Treatise on Contracts / 
The Cambridge Companion to Ockham /
The Franciscan William of Ockham (c. 1288-1347) was an English medieval philosopher, theologian, and political theorist. Along with Thomas Aquinas and Duns Scotus, he is regarded as one of the three main figures in medieval philosophy after around 1150. Ockham is important not only in the history of philosophy and theology, but also in the development of early modern science and of modern notions of property rights and church-state relations. This volume offers a full discussion of all significant aspects of Ockham's thought: logic, philosophy of language, metaphysics and natural philosophy, epistemology, ethics, action theory, political thought and theology. It is the first study of Ockham in any language to make full use of the new critical editions of his works, and to consider recent discoveries concerning his life, education, and influences.
The Cambridge Companion to Duns Scotus /
Each volume in this series of companions to major philosophers contains specially commissioned essays by an international team of scholars, together with a substantial bibliography, and will serve as a reference work for students and non-specialists. One aim of the series is to dispel the intimidation such readers often feel when faced with the work of a difficult and challenging thinker. John Duns Scotus (1265/6-1308) was (along with Aquinas and Ockham) one of the three principal figures in medieval philosophy and theology, with an influence on modern thought arguably even greater than that of Aquinas. The essays in this volume systematically survey the full range of Scotus' thought. They take care to explain the technical details of his writing in lucid terms and demonstrate the relevance of his work to contemporary philosophical debate. New readers will find this the most convenient and accessible guide to Scotus currently available.
본 교과목은 고대로부터 현대에 이르기까지 미와 예술에 관한 이론적 성찰의 역사적 전개와 사상적 발전을 심도 있게 논구하며 특히 고대에 있어서 미 및 예술에 관한 이론적 성찰의 역사적 전개와 사상적 발전에 관해 논구한다.
The Visible and the Invisible /
The Visible and the Invisible contains the unfinished manuscript and working notes of the book Merleau-Ponty was writing when he died. The text is devoted to a critical examination of Kantian, Husserlian, Bergsonian, and Sartrean method, followed by the extraordinary "The Intertwining--The Chiasm," that reveals the central pattern of Merleau-Ponty's own thought. The working notes for the book provide the reader with a truly exciting insight into the mind of the philosopher at work as he refines and develops new pivotal concepts.
Jacques Derrida /
This extraordinary book offers a clear and compelling biography of Jacques Derrida along with one of Derrida's strangest and most unexpected texts. Geoffrey Bennington's account of Derrida leads the reader through the philosopher's familiar yet widely misunderstood work on language and writing to the less familiar themes of signature, sexual difference, law, and affirmation. In an unusual and unprecedented "dialogue," Derrida responds to Bennington's text by interweaving Bennington's text with surprising and disruptive "periphrases." Truly original, this dual and dueling text opens new dimensions in Derrida's thought and work. "Bennington is a shrewd and well-informed commentator whose book should do something to convince the skeptics . . . that Jacques Derrida's work merits serious attention."--Christopher Norris, New Statesman & Society "Geoffrey Bennington and Jacques Derrida have presented a fascinating example of what might be called post-structuralist autobiography."--Laurie Volpe, French Review "Bennington's account of what Derrida is up to is better in almost all respects--more intelligent, more plausible, more readable, and less pretentious--than any other I have read."--Richard Rorty, Contemporary Literature
Les Transformateurs Duchamp / Duchamp's TRANS/formers /
This book is the third of a series of five volumes that exhaustively brings together the writings of Jean-François Lyotard (1924?1998) on contemporary art and artists. This collection of essays, written between 1974 and 1977 in the midst of Duchamp's rediscovery in France, was published by Editions Galilée, Paris, in 1977 and in English translation by the Lapis Press, Los Angeles, in 1990. This volume republishes the two versions face-to-face, including the drawings, diagrams, and images of the original edition. Herman Parret presents the text in a substantial introduction, and Dalia Judovitz situates it in the more general framework of Lyotardian philosophical reflection. Duchamp's TRANS/formers reconstructs Large Glass and Given, Duchamp's two major works that glorify the body in its topological conceptuality. The book introduces the question of the advent and the event of art and invites us further to consider the debt that philosophical commentary owes to the artistic gesture.
본 교과목은 현대 영,미 미학의 문제점을 비판적으로 검토하고, 이러한 문제점들이 현대 미학에로 어떻게 수용되고 논의 되었는지를 체계적인 맥락 속에서 논구한다.
Artificial Hells: Participatory Art and the Politics of Spectatorship /
Since the 1990s, critics and curators have broadly accepted the notion that participatory art is the ultimate political art: that by encouraging an audience to take part an artist can promote new emancipatory social relations. Around the world, the champions of this form of expression are numerous, ranging from art historians such as Grant Kester, curators such as Nicolas Bourriaud and Nato Thompson, to performance theorists such as Shannon Jackson. Artificial Hells is the first historical and theoretical overview of socially engaged participatory art, known in the US as "social practice." Claire Bishop follows the trajectory of twentieth-century art and examines key moments in the development of a participatory aesthetic. This itinerary takes in Futurism and Dada; the Situationist International; Happenings in Eastern Europe, Argentina and Paris; the 1970s Community Arts Movement; and the Artists Placement Group. It concludes with a discussion of long-term educational projects by contemporary artists such as Thomas Hirschhorn, Tania Bruguera, Pawe? Althamer and Paul Chan. Since her controversial essay in Artforum in 2006, Claire Bishop has been one of the few to challenge the political and aesthetic ambitions of participatory art. In Artificial Hells, she not only scrutinizes the emancipatory claims made for these projects, but also provides an alternative to the ethical (rather than artistic) criteria invited by such artworks. Artificial Hells calls for a less prescriptive approach to art and politics, and for more compelling, troubling and bolder forms of participatory art and criticism.
Installation Art: a Critical History /
Installation is one of the most popular and widespread forms of contemporary art. Installation Artprovides the first clear account of the rise of installation as a form while revisiting and, in some cases, reassessing many well-known names of post-1960 art. This lavishly produced volume also introduces the reader to a wider spectrum of younger artists yet to receive serious critical attention. Artists featured include Vito Acconci, Joseph Beuys, Christian Boltanski, Marcel Broodthaers, Judy Chicago, Olafur Eliasson, Group Material, Isaac Julien, Ilya Kabakov, Yayoi Kusama, Cildo Meireles, Robert Morris, Bruce Nauman, Claes Oldenburg, Robert Smithson, Bill Viola, and many others.
본 교과목은 시대별 양식의 성격과 관점을 분석하고, 아울러 그 변천과정의 근원을 연구한다.
본 교과목은 음악비평과 시대적 정신 및 가치관의 변천을 고찰하며시대에 따라 변천되어 온 음악비평의 역사를 연구한다.
예술철학의 성립 및 근대에 이르기까지의 전개과정에서 논구된 특수문제나 특수사상에 대해 논구함.
The Creation of Art /
Although creativity, from Plato onwards, has been recognized as a topic in philosophy, it has been overshadowed by investigations of the meanings and values of works of art. In this collection of essays a distinguished roster of philosophers of art redress this trend. The subjects discussed include the nature of creativity and the process of artistic creation; the role that creative making should play in our understanding and evaluation of art; relations between concepts of creation and creativity; and ideas of tradition, metaphor, genius, imagination and genre. This is an important collection that will be eagerly sought by philosophers of art as well as theorists in art history, cinema studies and literary criticism.
The Idea of Creativity /
Seventeen philosophers, scientists and artists consider questions about the intriguing idea of creativity: Is creativity essentially mysterious? Is creativity essentially inspirational or rationalistic? What role does skill play in creativity? What are the criteria of creativity? Should we assign logical priority to creative persons, creative processes, or creative products? How do forms of creativity relate to different domains of human activity? How does creativity relate to self-transformation? How does our knowledge of the circumstances of creativity effect our appreciation of its products? Can a recipient of a creative work also be a creator of it?Contributors include: Margaret Boden, Larry Briskman, John M. Carvalho, David Davies, Berys Gaut,Rom Harré, Carl R. Hausman, Albert Hofstadter, Arthur Koestler, Michael Krausz, Peter Lamarque, Thomas Leddy, Paisley Livingston, Michael Polany, Dean Keith Simonton, and Francis Sparshott.
The Philosophy of Creativity /
Creativity pervades human life. It is the mark of individuality, the vehicle of self-expression, and the engine of progress in every human endeavor. It also raises a wealth of neglected and yet evocative philosophical questions: What is the role of consciousness in the creative process? Howdoes the audience for a work for art influence its creation? How can creativity emerge through childhood pretending? Do great works of literature give us insight into human nature? Can a computer program really be creative? How do we define creativity in the first place? Is it a virtue? What is thedifference between creativity in science and art? Can creativity be taught?The new essays that comprise The Philosophy of Creativity take up these and other key questions and, in doing so, illustrate the value of interdisciplinary exchange. Written by leading philosophers and psychologists involved in studying creativity, the essays integrate philosophical insights withempirical research.
Creativity and Philosophy /
Creativity matters. We want people to be more creative and admire those who are. Yet creativity is deeply puzzling. Just what is it to be creative? Why is it valuable? Who or what can be creative and how? Creativity and Philosophy is an outstanding collection of specially commissioned chapters by leading philosophers who explore these problems and many more. It provides a comprehensive and creative picture of creativity, including the following themes: creativity as a virtue, imagination, epistemic virtue, moral virtue and personal vice; creativity with and without value, the definition of creativity, creative failures and suffering; creativity in nature, divine creativity and human agency; naturalistic explanations of creativity and the extended mind; creativity in philosophy, mathematics and logic, and the role of heuristics; creativity in art, morality and politics; individual and group creativity. A major feature of the collection is that it explores creativity not only from the perspective of art and aesthetics, but also from a variety of philosophical disciplines, including epistemology, philosophy of mind, philosophical psychology, philosophy of science, political philosophy and ethics. The volume is essential reading for anyone fascinated by creativity, whether their interests lie in philosophy, music, art and visual studies, literature, psychology, neuroscience, management or education, or they are simply intent on learning more about this vital human trait.
Mimesis as Make-Believe /
Representations--in visual arts and in fiction--play an important part in our lives and culture. Kendall Walton presents here a theory of the nature of representation, which illuminates its many varieties and goes a long way toward explaining its importance. Drawing analogies to children's make believe activities, Walton constructs a theory that addresses a broad range of issues: the distinction between fiction and nonfiction, how depiction differs from description, the notion of points of view in the arts, and what it means for one work to be more "realistic" than another. He explores the relation between appreciation and criticism, the character of emotional reactions to literary and visual representations, and what it means to be caught up emotionally in imaginary events. Walton's theory also provides solutions to the thorny philosophical problems of the existence--or ontological standing--of fictitious beings, and the meaning of statements referring to them. And it leads to striking insights concerning imagination, dreams, nonliteral uses of language, and the status of legends and myths. Throughout Walton applies his theoretical perspective to particular cases; his analysis is illustrated by a rich array of examples drawn from literature, painting, sculpture, theater, and film. Mimesis as Make-Believe is important reading for everyone interested in the workings of representational art.
How Ficta Follow Fiction /
This book presents a novel theory of fictional entities which integrates the work of previous authors. It puts forward a new metaphysical conception of the nature of these entities, according to which a fictional entity is a compound entity built up from both a make-believe theoretical element and a set-theoretical element. The author advances a new combined semantic and ontological defence of the existence of fictional entities.
본 교과목은 현대 예술철학의 여러 방법론에 대한 철학적 검토를 수행하며, 각 이론들이 지닌 의의와 한계를 논구한다.
Readings in Chinese Literary Thought /
This dual-language compilation of seven complete major works and many shorter pieces from the Confucian period through the Ch'ing dynasty will be indispensable to students of Chinese literature. Owen's masterful translations and commentaries have opened up Chinese literary thought to theorists and scholars of other languages.
본 교과목은 중국의 미학사를 구성하는 미적 대상, 미의식, 미적 범주, 미적 가치 등의 본질을 규명하기 위하여 중국의 고전적 문헌을선택하고 그 속에서 주요개념들을 추출하여 분석하며, 그러한 개념이 산출된 문화사적인 배경을 깊이 있게 천착한다. 본교과목에서는 가급적 원전에 담긴 사상을 의미 그대로 음미하면서 중국미학의 기초 방향을 정립해 나가고자 한다.
본 교과목은 중국미학사상을 구성하는 기초개념을 설정하고 그것을 담고 있는 문헌을 중심으로 그의미를 천착한다. 상고시대의 원초적미의식들을 <시경>, <서경>에서 춘추전국시대의 미의식을 <논어>등에서 한대의 미학사상을 <예기>에서, 육조시대의 예술론들을 혜강, 왕희지, 유협등의 문헌에서 발췌하여 그 의미를 밝힌다.
본 교과목은 현대 미학에서 주요한 쟁점이 되고 있는 미학적인 문제, 특히 대륙 철학적 논의들을 다루고 있는 주요 저작들을 비판적으로 검토함으로써 각 이론들이 지니는 의의와 한계를 심도 있게 연구한다.
Camera Lucida /
This personal, wide-ranging, and contemplative volume--and the last book Barthes published--finds the author applying his influential perceptiveness and associative insight to the subject of photography. To this end, several black-and-white photos (by the likes of Avedon, Clifford, Hine, Mapplethorpe, Nadar, Van Der Zee, and so forth) are reprinted throughout the text.
Cinema and Experience: Siegfried Kracauer, Walter Benjamin, and Theodor W. Adorno /
Siegfried Kracauer, Walter Benjamin, and Theodor W. Adorno--affiliated through friendship, professional ties, and argument--developed an astute philosophical critique of modernity in which technological media played a key role. This book explores in depth their reflections on cinema and photography from the Weimar period up to the 1960s. Miriam Bratu Hansen brings to life an impressive archive of known and, in the case of Kracauer, less known materials and reveals surprising perspectives on canonic texts, including Benjamin's artwork essay. Her lucid analysis extrapolates from these writings the contours of a theory of cinema and experience that speaks to questions being posed anew as moving image culture evolves in response to digital technology.
Painting, Photography, Film /
Moholy-Nagy's efforts to have photography and filmmaking recognized as means of artistic design on the same level as painting are propounded and explained at length. The use of artistic instruments is thus radically reformed. The Hungarian artist makes the case for a functional transformation within the visual arts and for the further development of photographic design options. Alongside theoretical and technical approaches as well as detailed forays into the broad field of the medium of photography, Moholy-Nagy uses an extensive appendix of illustrations to provide a thorough survey of the numerous possibilities that photographic and cinematic work had in store as early as 1925. This English edition appears in original design and with separate commentary. 100 illustrations
La civilisation de l'image / 본 교과목은 현대 미학에서 주요한 쟁점이 되고 있는 미학적인 문제, 특히 영미 분석 철학의 관점에서 다루고 있는 주요 저작들을 비판적으로 검토함으로써 현대미학의 제문제와 방법을 상호 비교 검토한다.
Theories of Cinema: 1945-1990 /
A collection of essays on the principal ideologies in film studies.
The Transfiguration of the Commonplace /
Arthur C. Danto argues that recent developments in the art world, in particular the production of works of art that cannot be told from ordinary things, make urgent the need for a new theory of art and make plain the factors such a theory can and cannot involve. In the course of constructing such a theory, he seeks to demonstrate the relationship between philosophy and art, as well as the connections that hold between art and social institutions and art history. The book distinguishes what belongs to artistic theory from what has traditionally been confused with it, namely aesthetic theory and offers as well a systematic account of metaphor, expression, and style, together with an original account of artistic representation. A wealth of examples, drawn especially from recent and contemporary art, illuminate the argument.
Contemporary Debates in Aesthetics and the Philosophy of Art /
Contemporary Debates in Aesthetics and the Philosophy of Artfeatures pairs of newly commissioned essays by some of the leadingtheorists working in the field today. Brings together fresh debates on eleven of the mostcontroversial issues in aesthetics and the philosophy of art Topics addressed include the nature of beauty, aestheticexperience, artistic value, and the nature of our emotionalresponses to art. Each question is treated by a pair of opposing essays writtenby eminent scholars, and especially commissioned for thevolume. Lively debate format sharply defines the issues, and paves theway for further discussion. Will serve as an accessible introduction to the major topics inaesthetics, while also capturing the imagination of professionalphilosophers
Aesthetics Today: a Reader /
Aesthetics: A Reader provides centrally important texts that explore the current state of the debate on twelve major topics within aesthetics and the philosophy of art. With the exception of excerpts from classic texts by Hume, Kant, Hanslick, and Collingwood, all the readings are by contemporary authors. Most of these essays have been abridged by the editors to enhance their accessibility and to maximize our ability to present a variety of positions on a given topic. Aesthetics provides a wide-ranging introduction to aesthetic theory and philosophy of art for readers, particularly university students who seek an overview of major controversies, theories, and writers. Each chapter features three to four contrasting views of each topic introduced by an original introductory essay that outlines the chapter's central issues, concepts, and controversies.
Aesthetics and the Philosophy of Art: The Analytic Tradition, An Anthology /
For over fifty years, philosophers working within the broader remit of analytic philosophy have developed and refined a substantial body of work in aesthetics and the philosophy of art, curating a core foundation of scholarship which offers rigor and clarity on matters of profound and perennial interest relating to art and all forms of aesthetic appreciation. Now in its second edition and thoroughly revised, Aesthetics and the Philosophy of Art--The Analytic Tradition: An Anthology captures this legacy in a comprehensive introduction to the core philosophical questions and conversations in aesthetics. Through 57 key essays selected by leading scholars Peter Lamarque and Stein Haugom Olsen, this anthology collects modern classics as well as new contributions on essential topics such as the identification and ontology of art, interpretation, values of art, art and knowledge, and fiction and the imagination. New to this edition are selections which treat aesthetic experience more widely, including essays on the aesthetics of nature and aesthetics in everyday life. Other carefully-chosen pieces analyze the practice and experience of specific art forms in greater detail, including painting, photography, film, literature, music, and popular art such as comics. This bestselling collection is an essential resource for students and scholars of aesthetics, designed to foster a foundational understanding of both long-standing and contemporary topics in the field.
본 교과목은 예술의 본질을 묻는 예술철학의 기본 이념을 설명하면서 현대 철학의 경향 속에서 예술철학이 차지하는 위치를 파악하고현대의 대표적인 예술철학의 사례들을 그들이 기초하고 있는 방법론에 기준하여 검토한후 이 방법론에 대한 철학적 탐색 작업에 특히 치중하여 현대 예술철학의 한계와 가능성을 보다 심도 있게 연구한다.
Critical Terms for Media Studies /
Communications, philosophy, film and video, digital culture: media studies straddles an astounding array of fields and disciplines and produces a vocabulary that is in equal parts rigorous and intuitive. Critical Terms for Media Studies defines, and at times, redefines, what this new and hybrid area aims to do, illuminating the key concepts behind its liveliest debates and most dynamic topics. Part of a larger conversation that engages culture, technology, and politics, this exciting collection of essays explores our most critical language for dealing with the qualities and modes of contemporary media. Edited by two outstanding scholars in the field, W. J. T. Mitchell and Mark B. N. Hansen, the volume features works by a team of distinguished contributors. These essays, commissioned expressly for this volume, are organized into three interrelated groups: "Aesthetics" engages with terms that describe sensory experiences and judgments, "Technology" offers entry into a broad array of technological concepts, and "Society" opens up language describing the systems that allow a medium to function. A compelling reference work for the twenty-first century and the media that form our experience within it, Critical Terms for Media Studies will engage and deepen any reader's knowledge of one of our most important new fields.
New Philosophy for New Media /
In New Philosophy for New Media Mark Hansen defines the image in digital art in terms that go beyond the merely visual. Arguing that the digital image encompasses the entire process by which information is made perceivable, he places the body in a privileged position - as the agent that filters information in order to create images. By doing so, he counters prevailing notions of technological transcendence and argues for the indispensability of the human in the digital era. Hansen examines new media art and theory in light of Henri Bergson's argument that affection and memory render perception impure - that we select only those images precisely relevant to our singular form of embodiment. Hansen updates this argument for the digital age, arguing that we filter the information we receive to create images rather than simply receiving images as pre-existing technical forms. This framing function yields what Hansen calls the digital image. He argues that this new embodied status of the frame corresponds directly to the digital revolution: a digitised image is not a fixed representation of reality, but is defined by its complete flexibility and accessibility. It is not just that
The Virtual Window: From Alberti to Microsoft /
As we spend more time staring at TVs and computers - 'windows' full of moving images, texts, and icons - how the world is framed has become as important as what is in the frame. This book examines the window as metaphor, as architectural component, and as an opening to the dematerialised reality seen on the screen.
The Metaphysics of Virtual Reality /
Computers have dramatically altered life in the late twentieth century. Today we can draw on worldwide computer links, speeding up communications by radio, newspapers, and television. Ideas fly back and forth and circle the globe at the speed of electricity. And just around the corner lurks full-blown virtual reality, in which we will be able to immerse ourselves in a computer simulation not only of the actual physical world, but of any imagined world. As we begin to move in and out of a computer-generated world, Michael Heim asks, how will the way we perceive our world change? In The Metaphysics of Virtual Reality, Heim considers this and other philosophical issues of the Information Age. With an eye for the dark as well as the bright side of computer technology, he explores the logical and historical origins of our computer-generated world and speculates about the future direction of our computerized lives. He discusses such topics as the effect of word-processing on the English language (while word-processors have led to increased productivity, they have also led to physical hazards such as repetitive motion syndrome, which causes inflamed hand and arm tendons). Heim looks into the new kind of literacy promised by Hypertext (technology which allows the user to link audio and video elements, the disadvantages including disorientation and cognitive overload). And he also probes the notion of virtual reality, "cyberspace"--the computer-simulated environments that have captured the popular imagination and may ultimately change the way we define reality itself. Just as the definition of interface itself has evolved from the actual adaptor plug used to connect electronic circuits into human entry into a self-contained cyberspace, so too will the notion of reality change with the current technological drive. Like the introduction of the automobile, the advent of virtual reality will change the whole context in which our knowledge and awareness of life are rooted. And along the way, Heim covers such intriguing topics as how computers have altered our thought habits, how we will be able to distinguish virtual from real reality, and the appearance of virtual reality in popular culture (as in Star Trek's holodeck, William Gibson's Neuromancer, and Stephen King's Lawnmower Man). Vividly and entertainingly written, The Metaphysics of Virtual Reality opens a window on a fascinating world that promises--or threatens--to become an integral part of everyday life in the 21st century. As Heim writes, not only do we face a breakthrough in the technology of computer interface, but we face the challenge of knowing ourselves and determining how the technology should develop and ultimately affect the society in which it grows.
The Language of New Media /
In this book Lev Manovich offers the first systematic and rigorous theory of new media. He places new media within the histories of visual and media cultures of the last few centuries. He discusses new media's reliance on conventions of old media, such as the rectangular frame and mobile camera, and shows how new media works create the illusion of reality, address the viewer, and represent space. He also analyzes categories and forms unique to new media, such as interface and database. Manovich uses concepts from film theory, art history, literary theory, and computer science and also develops new theoretical constructs, such as cultural interface, spatial montage, and cinegratography. The theory and history of cinema play a particularly important role in the book. Among other topics, Manovich discusses parallels between the histories of cinema and of new media, digital cinema, screen and montage in cinema and in new media, and historical ties between avant-garde film and new media.
The Virtual /
This book looks at the origins and the many contemporary meanings of the virtual. Rob Shields shows how the construction of virtual worlds has a long history. He examines the many forms of faith and hysteria that have surrounded computer technologies in recent years. Moving beyond the technologies themselves he shows how the virtual plays a role in our daily lives at every level. The virtual is also an essential concept needed to manage innovation and risk. It is real but not actual, ideal but not abstract. The virtual, he argues, has become one of the key organizing principles of contemporary society in the public realms of politics, business and consumption as well as in our private lives.
Disgust: the Theory and History of a Strong Sensation /
Examines this forceful emotion from philosophical, literary, and art historical perspectives.
Embodied Visions: Evolution, Emotion, Culture, and Film /
Embodied Visions presents a groundbreaking analysis of film through the lens of bioculturalism, revealing how human biology as well as human culture determine how films are made and experienced. Throughout his study, Torben Grodal uses the breakthroughs of modern brain science to explaincentral features of film aesthetics and to construct a general model of aesthetic experience--what he terms the PECMA flow model--that demonstrates the movement of information and emotions in the brain when viewing film. Examining a wide array of genres--animation, romance, pornography, fantasy,horror--from evolutionary and psychological frameworks, Grodal expands his scope to reflect on social issues at the intersection of film theory and neuropsychology, including moral problems in film viewing, how we experience realism and character identification, and the value of the subjective formsthat cinema elaborates. Embodied Visions broadens the theoretical framework of cognitive approaches to cinema while contributing toward a growing body of work on the relation between biology and culture.
The Neuro-Image: A Deleuzian Film-Philosophy of Digital Screen Culture /
Arguing that today's viewers move through a character's brain instead of looking through his or her eyes or mental landscape, this book approaches twenty-first-century globalized cinema through the concept of the "neuro-image." Pisters explains why this concept has emerged now, and she elaborates its threefold nature through research from three domains--Deleuzian (schizoanalytic) philosophy, digital networked screen culture, and neuroscientific research. These domains return in the book's tripartite structure. Part One, on the brain as "neuroscreen," suggests rich connections between film theory, mental illness, and cognitive neuroscience. Part Two explores neuro-images from a philosophical perspective, paying close attention to their ontological, epistemological, and aesthetic dimensions. Political and ethical aspects of the neuro-image are discussed in Part Three. Topics covered along the way include the omnipresence of surveillance, the blurring of the false and the real and the affective powers of the neo-baroque, and the use of neuro-images in politics, historical memory, and war.
The Neuro-Image: A Deleuzian Film-Philosophy of Digital Screen Culture /
Arguing that today's viewers move through a character's brain instead of looking through his or her eyes or mental landscape, this book approaches twenty-first-century globalized cinema through the concept of the "neuro-image." Pisters explains why this concept has emerged now, and she elaborates its threefold nature through research from three domains--Deleuzian (schizoanalytic) philosophy, digital networked screen culture, and neuroscientific research. These domains return in the book's tripartite structure. Part One, on the brain as "neuroscreen," suggests rich connections between film theory, mental illness, and cognitive neuroscience. Part Two explores neuro-images from a philosophical perspective, paying close attention to their ontological, epistemological, and aesthetic dimensions. Political and ethical aspects of the neuro-image are discussed in Part Three. Topics covered along the way include the omnipresence of surveillance, the blurring of the false and the real and the affective powers of the neo-baroque, and the use of neuro-images in politics, historical memory, and war.
Biopolitical Screens: Image, Power, and Neoliberal Brain /
An investigation of the aesthetics and politics of new visual media under twenty-first-century capitalism, from console games to virtual reality to video installation art. In Biopolitical Screens, Pasi Väliaho charts and conceptualizes the imagery that composes our affective and conceptual reality under twenty-first-century capitalism. Väliaho investigates the role screen media play in the networks that today harness human minds and bodies--the ways that images animated on console game platforms, virtual reality technologies, and computer screens capture human potential by plugging it into arrangements of finance, war, and the consumption of entertainment. Drawing on current neuroscience and political and economic thought, Väliaho argues that these images work to shape the atomistic individuals who populate the neoliberal world of accumulation and war. Väliaho bases his argument on a broad notion of the image as something both visible and sayable, detectable in various screen platforms but also in scientific perception and theoretical ideas. After laying out the conceptual foundations of the book, Väliaho offers focused and detailed investigations of the current visual economy. He considers the imagery of first-person shooter video games as tools of "neuropower"; explores the design and construction of virtual reality technologies to treat post-traumatic stress disorder in veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan; and examines three instances of video installation art that have the power to disrupt the dominant regime of sensibility rather than reinforce it.
Biopolitical Screens: Image, Power, and Neoliberal Brain /
An investigation of the aesthetics and politics of new visual media under twenty-first-century capitalism, from console games to virtual reality to video installation art. In Biopolitical Screens, Pasi Väliaho charts and conceptualizes the imagery that composes our affective and conceptual reality under twenty-first-century capitalism. Väliaho investigates the role screen media play in the networks that today harness human minds and bodies--the ways that images animated on console game platforms, virtual reality technologies, and computer screens capture human potential by plugging it into arrangements of finance, war, and the consumption of entertainment. Drawing on current neuroscience and political and economic thought, Väliaho argues that these images work to shape the atomistic individuals who populate the neoliberal world of accumulation and war. Väliaho bases his argument on a broad notion of the image as something both visible and sayable, detectable in various screen platforms but also in scientific perception and theoretical ideas. After laying out the conceptual foundations of the book, Väliaho offers focused and detailed investigations of the current visual economy. He considers the imagery of first-person shooter video games as tools of "neuropower"; explores the design and construction of virtual reality technologies to treat post-traumatic stress disorder in veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan; and examines three instances of video installation art that have the power to disrupt the dominant regime of sensibility rather than reinforce it.
What Should We Do with Our Brain? /
Recent neuroscience, in replacing the old model of the brain as a single centralized source of control, has emphasized "plasticity," the quality by which our brains develop and change throughout the course of our lives. Our brains exist as historical products, developing in interaction with themselves and with their surroundings. Hence there is a thin line between the organization of the nervous system and the political and social organization that both conditions and is conditioned by human experience. Looking carefully at contemporary neuroscience, it is hard not to notice that the new way of talking about the brain mirrors the management discourse of the neo-liberal capitalist world in which we now live, with its talk of decentralization, networks, and flexibility. Consciously or unconsciously, science cannot but echo the world in which it takes place. In the neo-liberal world, "plasticity" can be equated with "flexibility"--a term that has become a buzzword in economics and management theory. The plastic brain would thus represent just another style of power, which, although less centralized, is still a means of control. In this book, Catherine Malabou develops a second, more radical meaning for plasticity. Not only does plasticity allow our brains to adapt to existing circumstances, it opens a margin of freedom to intervene, to change those very circumstances. Such an understanding opens up a newly transformative aspect of the neurosciences. In insisting on this proximity between the neurosciences and the social sciences, Malabou applies to the brain Marx's well-known phrase about history: people make their own brains, but they do not know it. This book is a summons to such knowledge.
The New Wounded: From Neurosis to Brain Damage /
This book employs a philosophical approach to the "new wounded" (brain lesion patients) to stage a confrontation between psychoanalysis and contemporary neurobiology, focused on the issue of trauma and psychic wounds. It thereby reevaluates the brain as an organ that is not separated from psychic life but rather at its center. The "new wounded" suffer from psychic wounds that traditional psychoanalysis, with its emphasis on the psyche's need to integrate events into its own history, cannot understand or cure. They are victims of various cerebral lesions or attacks, including degenerative brain diseases such as Parkinson's and Alzheimer's. Changes caused by cerebral lesions frequently manifest themselves as an unprecedented metamorphosis in the patient's identity. A person with Alzheimer's disease, for example, is not--or not only--someone who has "changed" or been "modified" but rather a subject who has become someone else. The behavior of subjects who are victims of "sociopolitical traumas," such as abuse, war, terrorist attacks, or sexual assaults, displays striking resemblances to that of subjects who have suffered brain damage. Thus today the border separating organic trauma and sociopolitical trauma is increasingly porous. Effacing the limits that separate "neurobiology" from "sociopathy," brain damage tends also to blur the boundaries between history and nature. At the same time, it reveals that political oppression today assumes the guise of a traumatic blow stripped of all justification. We are thus dealing with a strange mixture of nature and politics, in which politics takes on the appearance of nature, and nature disappears in order to assume the mask of politics.
Unthought: The Power of the Cognitive Nonconscious / 본 교과목은 예술학의 학문적 방법론이 지닌 장점과 한계를 논구하고, 예술현상에 대한 예술학의 연구성과들을 심도있게 비교, 분석한다.
본 교과목은 미술의 본질에 대한 철학적인 이해에 평행이 되는 경험과학적인 미학의 일환으로 미술작품의 지각과 제작에 관련된 심리과정과 표상의 성질을 예술학적 관점에서 해명하는데 목적이 있다. 따라서 본과목은 형태심리학, 정신분석학 등등의 다양한 입장을 다룰 것이다.
Abstraction and Empathy /
Wilhelm Worringer's landmark study in the interpretation of modern art, first published in 1908, has seldom been out of print. Its profound impact not only on art historians and theorists but also for generations of creative writers and intellectuals is almost unprecedented. Starting from the notion that beauty derives from our sense of being able to identify with an object, Worringer argues that representational art produces satisfaction from our "objectified delight in the self," reflecting a confidence in the world as it is--as in Renaissance art. By contrast, the urge to abstraction, as exemplified by Egyptian, Byzantine, primitive, or modern expressionist art, articulates a totally different response to the world: it expresses man's insecurity. Thus in historical periods of anxiety and uncertainty, man seeks to abstract objects from their unpredictable state and transform them into absolute, transcendental forms. Abstraction and Empathy also has a sociological dimension, in that the urge to create fixed, abstract, and geometric forms is a response to the modern experience of industrialization and the sense that individual identity is threatened by a hostile mass society. Hilton Kramer's introduction considers the influence of Worringer's thesis and places his book in historical context.
Pictures of Nothing /
"What is abstract art good for? What's the use--for us as individuals, or for any society--of pictures of nothing, of paintings and sculptures or prints or drawings that do not seem to show anything except themselves?" In this invigorating account of abstract art since Jackson Pollock, eminent art historian Kirk Varnedoe, the former chief curator of painting and sculpture at the Museum of Modern Art, asks these and other questions as he frankly confronts the uncertainties we may have about the nonrepresentational art produced in the last five decades. He makes a compelling argument for its history and value, much as E. H. Gombrich tackled representation fifty years ago in Art and Illusion, another landmark A. W. Mellon Lectures volume. Realizing that these lectures might be his final work, Varnedoe conceived of them as a statement of his faith in modern art and as the culminating example of his lucidly pragmatic and philosophical approach to art history. He delivered the lectures, edited and reproduced here with their illustrations, to overflowing crowds at the National Gallery of Art in Washington in the spring of 2003, just months before his death. With brilliance, passion, and humor, Varnedoe addresses the skeptical attitudes and misunderstandings that we often bring to our experience of abstract art. Resisting grand generalizations, he makes a deliberate and scholarly case for abstraction--showing us that more than just pure looking is necessary to understand the self-made symbolic language of abstract art. Proceeding decade by decade, he brings alive the history and biography that inform the art while also challenging the received wisdom about distinctions between abstraction and representation, modernism and postmodernism, and minimalism and pop. The result is a fascinating and ultimately moving tour through a half century of abstract art, concluding with an unforgettable description of one of Varnedoe's favorite works.
Inventing Abstraction, 1910-1925 /
In 1912, in several European cities, a handful of artists--Vasily Kandinsky, Frantisek Kupka, Francis Picabia and Robert Delaunay--presented the first abstract pictures to the public. Inventing Abstraction, published to accompany an exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, celebrates the centennial of this bold new type of artwork. It traces the development of abstraction as it moved through a network of modern artists, from Marsden Hartley and Marcel Duchamp to Piet Mondrian and Kazimir Malevich, sweeping across nations and across media. This richly illustrated publication covers a wide range of artistic production--including paintings, drawings, books, sculptures, film, photography, sound poetry, atonal music and non-narrative dance--to draw a cross-media portrait of these watershed years. An introductory essay by Leah Dickerman, Curator in the Museum's Department of Painting and Sculpture, is followed by focused studies of key groups of works, events and critical issues in abstraction's early history by renowned scholars from a variety of fields.
Conceptual Revolutions in Twentieth-Century Art /
From Picasso's Cubism and Duchamp's readymades to Warhol's silkscreens and Smithson's earthworks, the art of the twentieth century broke completely with earlier artistic traditions. A basic change in the market for advanced art produced a heightened demand for innovation, and young conceptual innovators - from Picasso and Duchamp to Rauschenberg and Warhol to Cindy Sherman and Damien Hirst - responded not only by creating dozens of new forms of art, but also by behaving in ways that would have been incomprehensible to their predecessors. Conceptual Revolutions in Twentieth-Century Art presents the first systematic analysis of the reasons for this discontinuity. David W. Galenson, whose earlier research has changed our understanding of creativity, combines social scientific methods with qualitative analysis to produce a fundamentally new interpretation of modern art that will give readers a far deeper appreciation of the art of the past century, and of today, than is available elsewhere.
Abstract Painting: 50 Years of Accomplishment, from Kandinsky to Jackson Pollock / 
On Abstract Art /
Introducing abstract painting and sculpture of the 20th century, this volume explores new ways to think about abstract art and the problems of interpretation it raises. Each of the ten chapters in the book addresses a particular problem associated with abstract art by focusing on specific works.
The Rise of Cubism (Classic Reprint) /
Excerpt from Rise of Cubism Impressionism rejuvenated painting; it brightened the palette and broke with old superfluous laws. Its goal, however, was too limited to suffice for more than one generation. With it, illusionism appeared as one last burst of color pyro technics, sputtered and extinguished itself. The period following Impressionism must be described as lyric, not lyric in the literary sense of mood, but lyric in the pain'terly sense of form. The purpose of recording history, which painting had fulfilled before Masaccio in a narrative fashion and after him in a dramatic fashion, had vanished. And for that reason painting in our time has become lyric, its stimulus the pure intense delight in the beauty of things. Lyric painting celebrates this beauty without epic or dramatic overtones. It strives to capture this beauty in the unity of the work of art. The nature of the new painting is clearly characterized as representational as well as structural: representational in that it tries to repro duce the formal beauty of things; structural in its attempt to grasp the meaning of this formal beauty in the painting. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Cubism and the 20th Century /
Art historian Robert Rosenblum clarifies the language of Cubism and offers a penetrating analysis of its role in the creation of the major pictorial and sculptural styles of our time.
Meanings of Abstract Art /
Traditional art is based on conventions of resemblance between the work and that which it is a representation "of". Abstract art, in contrast, either adopts alternative modes of visual representation or reconfigures mimetic convention. This book explores the relation of abstract art to nature (taking nature in the broadest sense--the world of recognisable objects, creatures, organisms, processes, and states of affairs). Abstract art takes many different forms, but there are shared key structural features centered on two basic relations to nature. The first abstracts from nature, to give selected aspects of it a new and extremely unfamiliar appearance. The second affirms a natural creativity that issues in new, autonomous forms that are not constrained by mimetic conventions. (Such creativity is often attributed to the power of the unconscious.) The book covers three categories: classical modernism (Mondrian, Malevich, Kandinsky, Arp, early American abstraction); post-war abstraction (Pollock, Still, Newman, Smithson, Noguchi, Arte Povera, Michaux, postmodern developments); and the broader historical and philosophical scope.
The Artist As Producer /
The Artist as Producer reshapes our understanding of the fundamental contribution of the Russian avant-garde to the development of modernism. Focusing on the single most important hotbed of Constructivist activity in the early 1920s--the Institute of Artistic Culture (INKhUK) in Moscow--Maria Gough offers a powerful reinterpretation of the work of the first group of artists to call themselves Constructivists. Her lively narrative ranges from famous figures such as Aleksandr Rodchenko to others who are much less well known, such as Karl Ioganson, a key member of the state-funded INKhUK whose work paved the way for an eventual dematerialization of the integral art object. Through the mining of untapped archives and collections in Russia and Latvia and a close reading of key Constructivist works, Gough highlights fundamental differences among the Moscow group in their handling of the experimental new sculptural form--the spatial construction--and of their subsequent shift to industrial production. The Artist as Producer upends the standard view that the Moscow group's formalism and abstraction were incompatible with the sociopolitical imperatives of the new Communist state. It challenges the common equation of Constructivism with functionalism and utilitarianism by delineating a contrary tendency toward non-determinism and an alternate orientation to process rather than product. Finally, the book counters the popular perception that Constructivism failed in its ambition to enter production by presenting the first-ever case study of how a Constructivist could, and in fact did, operate within an industrial environment. The Artist as Producer offers provocative new perspectives on three critical issues--formalism, functionalism, and failure--that are of central importance to our understanding not only of the Soviet phenomenon but also of the European vanguards more generally.
The Russian Experiment in Art, 1863-1922 /
When the original edition of this book was published, John Russell hailed it as "a massive contribution to our knowledge of one of the most fascinating and mysterious episodes in the history of modern art." It still remains the most compact, accurate and reasonably priced survey of sixty years of creative dynamic activity that profoundly influenced the progress of Western art and architecture.
Russian Constructivism /
One of the most exciting movements in 20th century art, Russian constructivism radically reassessed the role of the artist and his work. Here, Lodder provides a detailed account of this complex movement and the reverberations it had on Western culture.
The Russian Avant-Garde and Radical Modernism /
The Russian avant-garde was a composite of antagonistic groups who wished to overthrow the basic aesthetics of classical realism. Modernism was the totality of these numerous aesthetic theories, which achieved a measure of coherence immediately after the First World War. This collection of essays by leading scholars examines the major figures, movements, and manifestos of the period. Scholarly attention is given to literature, visual arts, cinema, and theatre in an attempt to capture the complex nature of the modernist movement in Russia. This book would be especially relevant for university courses on the Russian twentieth century as well as for those looking for a comprehensive approach to the various movements and artistic expressions that constitute the Russian avant-garde.
Making Modernism Soviet /
Making Modernism Soviet provides a new understanding of the ideological engagement of Russian modern artists such as Kazimir Malevich, Alexander Rodchenko, and Vera Ermolaeva with the political and social agenda of the Bolsheviks in the chaotic years immediately following the Russian Revolution. Focusing on the relationship between power brokers and cultural institutions under conditions of state patronage, Pamela Kachurin lays to rest the myth of the imposition of control from above upon a victimized artistic community. Drawing on extensive archival research, she shows that Russian modernists used their positions within the expanding Soviet arts bureaucracy to build up networks of like-minded colleagues. Their commitment to one another and to the task of creating a socially transformative visual language for the new Soviet context allowed them to produce some of their most famous works of art. But it also contributed to the "Sovietization" of the art world that eventually sealed their fate.
Russian Avant-Garde /
The Russian Avant-garde was born at the turn of the 20th century in pre-revolutionary Russia. The intellectual and cultural turmoil had then reached a peak and provided fertile soil for the formation of the movement. For many artists influenced by European art, the movement represented a way of liberating themselves from the social and aesthetic constraints of the past. It was these Avant-garde artists who, through their immense creativity, gave birth to abstract art, thereby elevating Russian culture to a modern level.Such painters as Kandinsky, Malevich, Goncharova, Larionov, and Tatlin, to name but a few, had a definitive impact on 20th-century art.
Realism, Rationalism, Surrealism /
This book begins by considering responses by French artists to the First World War, showing how Purism, Dada, and early Surrealism are related to the ethos of post-war reconstruction. The authors then discuss the language of construction in places as dissimilar as France, Germany, and the Soviet Union; the contrasting demands of the utility and decoration of objects and paintings; and the relationship of surrealism to questions of sexuality and gender and to Freudian theory. The book concludes by addressing the widespread debate over realism in art: whether it represents an alternative to the elitism of the avant-garde or whether avant-garde art should play a role in the development of a modern realism.
본 교과목은 미술현상과 사회현상의 상호관계를 고찰, 해명하는데 그 목적이 있다. 따라서 본 교과목은 Taine , Houser 등등의 다양한 예술사회학자들의 영향력있는 저작을 검토할 것이다.
본 교과목은 이른바 '조형예술론'이라고 통칭되는 예술현상에 대한 이론인 조형예술론이 지니는 미학적인 문제를 천착함으로써 조형예술에 대한 보다 체계적인 미학적 접근을 시도한다.
Music and Society /
This provocative volume of essays is now available in paperback. The contributors to this volume - musicologists, sociologists, cultural theorists - all challenge the view that music occupies an autonomous aesthetic sphere. Recently, socially and politically grounded enterprises such as feminism, semiotics and deconstruction have effected a major transformation in the ways in which the arts and humanities are studied, leading in turn to a systematic investigation of the implicit assumptions underlying the critical methods of the last two hundred years. Influenced by these approaches, the writers here question a prevailing ideology that insists there is a division between music and society and examine the ways in which the two do in fact interact and mediate one another within and across socio-cultural boundaries.
Understanding Music /
Roger Scruton first addressed this topic in his celebrated book The Aesthetics of Music (OUP) and in this new book he applies the theory to the practice and examines a number of composers and musical forms. His continued fascination with Wagner provides much interesting content but he also deals near-death blows to his favorite targets like Pierre Boulez and Hoagy Carmichael. His legal encounter with The Pet Shop Boys is well documented (they sued him for libel in 1999) and the book closes with a devastating chapter on pop music, containing more controversial views that readers will relish. Many will be delighted; others enraged. However, underlying this book there is a consistent argument and passion for tonality and rhythm.
본 교과목은 작품의 해석과 평가 등 음악비평에 있어서 미학적인 문제가 되는 쟁점들을 체계적으로 검토하고 아울러 쟁점들에 대한 각각의 이론이 지니는 의의를 심도 있게 비교 검토한다.
The Truth in Painting /
"The four essays in this volume constitute Derrida's most explicit and sustained reflection on the art work as pictorial artifact, a reflection partly by way of philosophical aesthetics (Kant, Heidegger), partly by way of a commentary on art works and art scholarship (Van Gogh, Adami, Titus-Carmel). The illustrations are excellent, and the translators, who clearly see their work as both a rendering and a transformation, add yet another dimension to this richly layered composition. Indispensable to collections emphasizing art criticism and aesthetics."--Alexander Gelley, Library Journal
본 교과목은 근대 독일 미학사상이 지니는 미학사적 의의와 주요 저작에 대한 심도 있는 검토를 통해 근대 독일 미학사상이 지니는 위상과 의의에 대해 연구한다.
Les Passions de L'ame /
Dernier ouvrage publie par Descartes, le Traite des Passions de l'ame (1649) est le fruit de toute sa philosophie. Ce traite, qui s'appuie sur un resume de la biologie cartesienne, s'oriente vers une medecine concrete des affections psycho-physiologiques et s'epanouit en une apologie de la generosite. Aux observations scientifiques, Descartes ne dedaigne pas d'adjoindre des notations psychologiques dont la finesse evoque parfois ces maximes qui fleurissaient dans les salons au XVIIe siecle. Ainsi l'ampleur des conclusions scientifiques, morales et metaphysiques, sources d'etudes toujours renaissantes pour les specialistes, se colore par surcroit d'une richesse vecue qui fait de ce Traite, ecrit pour une princesse et offert a une reine, le modele des ouvrages accessibles au plus grand public.
Descartes: Selected Philosophical Writings /
Based on the new and much acclaimed two-volume Cambridge edition of The Philosophical Writings of Descartes by Cottingham, Stoothoff and Murdoch, this anthology of essential texts contains the most important and widely studied of those writings, including the Discourse and Meditations and substantial extracts from the Regulae, Optics, Principles, Objectives and Replies, Comments on a Broadsheet, and Passions of the Soul. In clear, readable, modern English, with a full text and running references to the standard Franco-Latin edition of Descartes, this book is planned as the definitive one-volume reader for all English-speaking students of Descartes.
본 교과목은 근대 프랑스 미학사상의 위상과 의의를 탐구하며, 주요 예술사상에 대한 비교, 분석을 통해 근대 프랑스 미학사상이 현대 미학 사상에 어떤 영향을 미치고 있는지 연구한다.
Vorlesungen über die Philosophie der Kunst / 
Lectures on the Philosophy of Art /
Hegel gave lecture series on aesthetics or the philosophy of art in various university terms, but never published a book of his own on this topic. His student, H. G. Hotho, compiled auditors' transcripts from these separate lecture series and produced from them the three volumes on aestheticsin the standard edition of Hegel's collected works. Annemarie Gethmann-Siefert has now published one of these transcripts, the Hotho transcript of the 1823 lecture series, and accompanied it with a very extensive introductory essay treating many issues pertinent to a proper understanding of Hegel'sviews on art. She persuasively argues that the evidence shows Hegel never finalized his views on the philosophy of art, but modified them in significant ways from one lecture series to the next. In addition, she makes the case that Hotho's compilation not only concealed this circumstance, by theharmony he created out of diverse source materials, but also imposed some of his own views on aesthetics, views that differ from Hegel's and that the ongoing interpretation of the aesthetics part of Hegel's philosophy has unfortunately taken to be Hegel's own.This translation of the German volume, which contains the first publication of the Hotho transcript and Gethmann-Siefert's essay, makes these important materials accessible to the English reader, materials that should put the English-speaking world's future understanding and interpretation ofHegel's philosophy of art on a sounder footing.
Hegel and the Arts /
That aesthetics is central to Hegel's philosophical enterprise is not widely acknowledged, nor has his significant contribution to the discipline been truly appreciated. Some may be familiar with his theory of tragedy and his (supposed) doctrine of the "end of art," but many philosophers and writers on art pay little or no attention to his lectures on aesthetics. The essays in this collection, all but one written specifically for this volume, aim to raise the profile of Hegel's aesthetic theory by showing in detail precisely why that theory is so powerful. Writing from various perspectives and not necessarily aligned with Hegel's position, the contributors demonstrate that Hegel's lectures on aesthetics constitute one of the richest reservoirs of ideas about the arts, their history, and their future that we possess. Addressing a range of important topics, the essays examine the conceptual bases of Hegel's organization of his aesthetics, his treatment of various specific arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, music, and tragedy), and several of the most famous issues in the literature--including the "end of art" thesis, the relation between art and religion, and the vexed relationship between Hegel and the romantics. Together they shed light on the profound reflections on art contained in Hegel's philosophy and also suggest ways in which his aesthetics might resonate well beyond the field of philosophical aesthetics, perhaps beyond philosophy itself.
Hegel's Aesthetics: The Art of Idealism /
Hegel is known as "the father of art history," yet recent scholarship has overlooked his contributions. This is the first comprehensive interpretation of Hegel's philosophy of art in English in thirty years. In a new analysis of Hegel's notorious "end of art" thesis, Hegel's Aesthetics showsthe indispensability of Hegel's aesthetics for understanding his philosophical idealism and introduces a new claim about his account of aesthetic experience.In a departure from previous interpretations, Lydia Moland argues for considering Hegel's discussion of individual arts - architecture, sculpture, painting, music, and poetry - on their own terms, unlocking new insights about his theories of perception, feeling, selfhood, and freedom. This newapproach allows Hegel's philosophy to engage with modern aesthetic theories and opens new possibilities for applying Hegel's aesthetics to contemporary art. Moland further elucidates his controversial analysis of symbolic, classical, and romantic art through clarifying Hegel's examples of each. Byincorporating newly available sources from Hegel's lectures on art, this book widely expands our understanding of the particular artworks Hegel discusses as well as the theories he rejects. Hegel's Aesthetics further situates his arguments in the intense philosophizing about art among hiscontemporaries, including Kant, Lessing, Herder, Schelling, and the Schlegel brothers.Ultimately, the book offers a rich vision of the foundation of his ideas about art and the range of their application, confirming Hegel as one of the most important theorists of art in the history of philosophy.
Begriff und Struktur der Kunst in Hegels Ästhetik /
English summary: This book aims to demonstrate the philosophical relevance of Hegel's concept of art for a contemporary theory concerning works of art. It reconstructs the systematic context of justification in Hegel's aesthetics and explains how Hegel develops his concept of art on the basis of a general philosophy of the mind and a theory of logic. Today however, neither Hegel's concept of art nor his aesthetic approach to the artwork appears to be regarded as up to date. Therefore, the second part of the study examines the critical reception of Hegel's philosophy of art since the 20th century. In the course of this analysis, an insufficient understanding of Hegel is dismissed and the criticism of Hegel by more recently asserted aesthetic theories is discredited. German description: Dieses Buch zielt darauf, die philosophische Relevanz von Hegels Kunstbegriff fur eine zeitgenossische Theorie des Kunstwerks aufzuzeigen. Es rekonstruiert den systematischen Begrundungszusammenhang von Hegels Asthetik und legt dar, wie Hegel seinen Kunstbegriff auf der Basis einer allgemeinen Philosophie des Geistes und einer Theorie der Logik entwickelt. Zentrales Anliegen ist einerseits zu zeigen, inwieweit es Hegel gelingt, einen Kunstbegriff zu etablieren, der weder auf bestimmte Kunstformen oder -werke beschrankt ist noch unabhangig von der geschichtlichen Kunstentwicklung gefasst wird. Zum anderen wird untersucht, in welcher Hinsicht Hegels Bestimmung des Werkbegriffs anschlussfahig an die moderne Asthetikdebatte ist. Weder Hegels Kunstbegriff noch sein werkasthetischer Ansatz scheinen aber heute noch aktuell zu sein. Daher widmet sich die Studie in einem zweiten Teil der kritischen Rezeption der hegelschen Kunstphilosophie seit dem 20. Jahrhundert. Sie pruft, ob die Argumente, die in der neueren Asthetik gegen Hegel vorgebracht werden, seinen Ansatz tatsachlich widerlegen. Im Verlauf der Analyse werden sowohl ein verkurztes Hegelverstandnis zuruckgewiesen als auch die von neueren Asthetiktheorien erhobenen Vorwurfe gegen Hegel entkraftet.
Art As Human Practice /
How is art both distinct and different from the rest of human life, while also mattering in and for it? This central yet overlooked question in contemporary philosophy of art is at the heart of Georg Bertram's new aesthetic. Drawing on the resources of diverse philosophical traditions analytic philosophy, French philosophy, and German post-Kantian philosophy his book offers a systematic account of art as a human practice. One that remains connected to the whole of life.
Kunst als menschliche Praxis: Eine Ästhetik / 
Morte dell’arte e rinascita dell’immagine / 
Kunst: Eine philosophische Einführung / 
Affekt und Urteil / 
Kunst und Erfahrung: Beiträge zu einer philosophischen Kontroverse / 본 교과목은 근대 미학에서 주요한 쟁점이 되고 있는 미학적인 문제들을 다루고 있는 주요 저작들을 비판적으로 검토함으로써 각 이론들이 지니는 의의와 한계를 심도있게 연구한다.
The Routledge Reader on the Sociology of Music /
The Routledge Reader on the Sociology of Music offers the first collection of source readings and new essays on the latest thinking in the sociology of music. Interest in music sociology has increased dramatically over the past decade, yet there is no anthology of essential and introductory readings. The volume includes a comprehensive survey of the field's history, current state and future research directions. It offers six source readings, thirteen popular contemporary essays, and sixteen fresh, new contributions, along with an extended Introduction by the editors. The Routledge Reader on the Sociology of Music represents a broad reference work that will be a resource for the current generation of sociologically inclined musicologists and musically inclined sociologists, whether researchers, teachers or students.
Musicology: the Key Concepts /
Now in an updated 2nd edition, Musicology: The Key Concepts is a handy A-Z reference guide to the terms and concepts associated with contemporary musicology. Drawing on critical theory with a focus on new musicology, this updated edition contains over 35 new entries including: Autobiography Music and Conflict Deconstruction Postcolonialism Disability Music after 9/11 Masculinity Gay Musicology Aesthetics Ethnicity Interpretation Subjectivity With all entries updated, and suggestions for further reading throughout, this text is an essential resource for all students of music, musicology, and wider performance related humanities disciplines.
Musicology: the Key Concepts /
Musicology: the Key Concepts provides a vital reference guide for students of contemporary musicology. Its clear and accessible entries cover a comprehensive range of terms including: - aesthetics - canon - culture - deconstruction - ethnicity - identity - subjectivity - value - work Fully cross-referenced and with suggestions for further reading, this is an essential resource for all students of music.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Listening in the 19th and 20th Centuries /
An idealized image of European concert-goers has long prevailed in historical overviews of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. This act of listening was considered to be an invisible and amorphous phenomenon, a naturally given mode of perception. This narrative influenced the conditions oflistening from the selection of repertoire to the construction of concert halls and programmes. However, as listening moved from the concert hall to the opera house, street music, and jazz venues, new and visceral listening traditions evolved. In turn, the art of listening was shaped by phenomena ofthe modern era including media innovation and commercialization.This Handbook asks whether, how, and why practices of music listening changed as the audience moved from pleasure gardens and concert venues in the eighteenth century to living rooms in the twentieth century, and mobile devices in the twenty-first. Through these questions, chapters enable adifferently conceived history of listening and offer an agenda for future research.
Rethinking Music /
Rethinking Music offers a comprehensive re-evalution of current thinking about music. In this book, 24 distinguished musicologists, music theorists, and ethnomusicologists review different dimensions of musical study, revealing a range of concerns that are shared across the discipline: the nature of musicological practice, its social and ethical dimensions, issues of canon and value, and the relationship between academic study and musical experience.
Musical Listening in the Age of Technological Reproduction /
It is undeniable that technology has made a tangible impact on the nature of musical listening. The new media have changed our relationship with music in a myriad of ways, not least because the experience of listening can now be prolonged at will and repeated at any time and in any space. Moreover, among the more striking social phenomena ushered in by the technological revolution, one cannot fail to mention music's current status as a commodity and popular music's unprecedented global reach. In response to these new social and perceptual conditions, the act of listening has diversified into a wide range of patterns of behaviour which seem to resist any attempt at unification. Concentrated listening, the form of musical reception fostered by Western art music, now appears to be but one of the many ways in which audiences respond to organized sound. Cinema, for example, has developed specific ways of combining images and sounds; and, more recently, digital technology has redefined the standard forms of mass communication. Information is aestheticized, and music in turn is incorporated into pre-existing symbolic fields. This volume - the first in the series Musical Cultures of the Twentieth Century - offers a wide-ranging exploration of the relations between sound, technology and listening practices, considered from the complementary perspectives of art music and popular music, music theatre and multimedia, composition and performance, ethnographic and anthropological research.
Absolute Music, Mechanical Reproduction /
Recordings are now the primary way we hear classical music, especially the more abstract styles of "absolute" instrumental music. In this original, provocative book, Arved Ashby argues that recording technology has transformed our understanding of art music. Contesting the laments of nostalgic critics, Ashby sees recordings as socially progressive and instruments of a musical vernacular, but also finds that recording and absolute music actually involve similar notions of removing sound from context. He takes stock of technology's impact on classical music, addressing the questions at the heart of the issue. This erudite yet concise study reveals how mechanical reproduction has transformed classical musical culture and the very act of listening, breaking down aesthetic and generational barriers and mixing classical music into the soundtrack of everyday life.
Unruly Media: YouTube, Music Video, and the New Digital Cinema / 
Ubiquitous Listening: Affect, Attention, and Distributed Subjectivity /
How does the constant presence of music in modern life--on iPods, in shops and elevators, on television--affect the way we listen? With so much of this sound, whether imposed or chosen, only partially present to us, is the act of listening degraded by such passive listening? In Ubiquitous Listening, Anahid Kassabian investigates the many sounds that surround us and argues that this ubiquity has led to different kinds of listening. Kassabian argues for a new examination of the music we do not normally hear (and by implication, that we do), one that examines the way it is used as a marketing tool and a mood modulator, and exploring the ways we engage with this music.
Audio Culture: Readings in Modern Music /
Audio Culture: Readings in Modern Music attempts to map the aural and discursive terrain of vanguard musical culture today. Over the past few decades, a new audio culture has emerged, a culture of making and thinking about music and sound that disregards conventional categories and oppositions still operative in the academy and the mainstream music industry alike. Via writings by key philosophers, cultural theorists and composers, this book explores the interconnections among such forms as Minimalism, Indeterminacy, musique concrete, Improvised Music, the Classical Avant Garde, Experimental Music, Avant-Rock, Dub Reggae, Ambient Music, Hip Hop, and Techno. T transgressing generic boundaries, and how contemporary composers, producers, and musicians now work within complex networks of association and influence: New York art rockers Sonic Youth release a CD of works by John Cage and other avant-garde experimentalists; Bjork interviews Karlheinz Stockhausen for a music magazine and Derek Bailey, the septuagenarian founder of Free Improvisation, collaborates with Drum 'n' Bass producers. Each chapter opens with an introduction that situates and interconnects the writings to follow and concludes with an extensive bibliography and discography. The book also includes a comprehensive glossary of terms and phrases such as 'Ambient, ' 'Dub, ' 'just intonation, ' and 'modal improvisatio
The Oxford Handbook of New Audiovisual Aesthetics /
This handbook offers new ways to read the audiovisual. In the media landscapes of today, conglomerates jockey for primacy and the internet increasingly places media in the hands of individuals - producing the range of phenomena from movie blockbuster to YouTube aesthetics. Media forms andgenres are proliferating and interpenetrating, from movies, music and other entertainments streaming on computers and iPods to video games and wireless phones. The audiovisual environment of everyday life, too - from street to stadium to classroom - would at times be hardly recognizable to themid-twentieth-century subject. The Oxford Handbook of New Audiovisual Aesthetics provides powerful ways to understand these changes.Earlier approaches tended to consider sound and music as secondary to image and narrative. These remained popular even as practices from theater, cinema and television migrated across media. However, the traversal, or "remediation," from one medium to another has also provided practitioners andaudiences the chance to rewrite the rules of the audiovisual contract. Whether viewed from the vantage of televised mainstream culture, the Hollywood film industry, the cinematic avant-garde, or the participatory discourses of "cyberspace," audiovisual expression has changed dramatically.The book provides a definitive cross-section of current ways of thinking about sound and image. Its authors - leading scholars and promising younger ones, audiovisual practitioners and non-academic writers (both mainstream and independent) - open the discussion on audiovisual aesthetics in newdirections. Our contributors come from fields including film, visual arts, new media, cultural theory, and sound and music studies, and they draw variously from economic, political, institutional, psychoanalytic, genre-based, auteurist, internationalist, reception-focused, technological, andcultural approaches to questions concerning today's sound and image. All consider the aural dimension, and what Michel Chion calls "audio-vision:" the sensory and semiotic result of sound placed with vision, an encounter greater than their sum.
본 교과목은 미시적 음악분석과 거시적 사회분석을 병행하면서 음악 활동(작곡, 연주, 분배, 수용)이 사회적으로 어떻게 성립되는지를 탐구한다. 뿐만 아니라 사회적 ‘과정’으로서의 음악, 사회적 삶의 역동적 매체로서의 음악이 어떻게 사회적인 것을 구성하기도 하는지 그 방도에 대해 궁리한다.
