| 100.129 | 언어와 언어학 | |
| 100.130 | 언어와 컴퓨터 | |
| 100.131 | 말소리의 세계 | |
| 100.132 | 세계의 언어 | |
| 108.208 | 음운론 | |
| 108.223 | 만주어 | |
| 108.225 | 언어학사 | |
| 108.226 | 형태론 | |
| 108.311 | 의미론 | |
| 108.312 | 역사비교언어학 | |
| 108.315 | 통사론 | |
| 108.317 | 사회언어학 | |
| 108.319 | 언어조사 및 분석 | |
| 108.320 | 심리언어학 | |
| 108.321 | 특수언어특강 | |
| 108.413A | 컴퓨터언어학 | |
| 108.415 | 응용음성학 | |
| 108.417 | 언어와 정보처리 | |
| 108.419 | 언어장애 및 치료 | |
| 108.420 | 화용론 | |
| M1246.000500 | 알타이언어학 | |
| M1246.000600 | 인도유럽언어학 | |
| M1246.000900 | 실험언어학 | |
| M1246.001000 | 언어학을 위한 통계 | |
| M1246.001200 | 언어습득 |
입에서 톡 독학 이탈리아어 첫걸음 : 시즌 3 / 이태리어는 인구어에 속하는 언어로서, 문화, 예술 분야와도 관련이 깊은 언어이다. 이태리어 학습을 통해서 언어로서의 지식뿐만 아니라 서양문화를 이해하는데 필요한 지적 교양을 쌓는다.
입에서 톡 독학 이탈리아어 첫걸음 : 시즌 3 / 이 교과목은 ‘이태리어 1(032.057)’의 교과목 내용을 기초로 이론의 확대적용 및 발전을 좀더 깊이 있게 모색한다.
스와힐리어를 처음 접하는 학생들을 위해 스와힐리어의 문자와 발음 및 구문구조를 이해할 수 있는 기초적인 문법을 배우고 기본적인 회화 수업을 병행한다. 이를 통하여 스와힐리어의 기초가 되는 듣기, 읽기, 말하기가 가능하도록 한다.
본 강좌는 몽골어를 처음 배우는 학생들을 대상으로 한다. 구체적으로는 표준 몽골어의 알파벳 쓰기와 발음을 정확하게 익히고 몽골어의 문법 지식뿐만 아니라 몽골어의 말하기, 듣기, 읽기, 쓰기의 기초 능력을 키우는 것이 목표이다. 일상생활 관련 기본 단어와 표현을 배움으로써 몽골인과의 기본적인 의사소통을 가능하게 만든다.
본 교과목은 “언어”라는 개념을 여러 각도에서 확장시켜, 인간의 삶과 우주에 적용시켜 봄으로써 모든 분야의 기초과정 및 전공자에게 정보(information) 와 소통(communication)이라는 기초 개념이 얼마나 보편적인지를 탐구하게 한다. 자연언어와 인공언어, 세상의 정보를 담는 여러 기호 및 장치들, 예술과 디자인에서의 정보 구조, 그리고 이들의 소통 방식과 인간이 이에 참여하는 방식을 탐구한다. 이 모든 주제들을 기본적으로 인간 언어의 형식과 의미, 그리고 언어지식의 본질, 존재양식과 운용 원리에 기반하여 살펴 볼 것이다.
인간과 불가분의 관계가 있는 언어의 본질과 기능 그리고 그 변화 등을 연구하는 학문인 언어학에 관한 개론을 강의하게 되는데, 우선 언어학의 연구대상과 연구방법을 소개하고, 구체적으로 언어의 본질인 음성, 문법, 의미를 음성학, 음운론, 문법론 등으로 나누어 강의하면서 아울러 언어의 분석 그리고 언어의 변천을 연구하는 역사언어학의 입문도 강의하게 된다.
Finnish: An Essential Grammar /
This thoroughly revised third edition of Finnish: An Essential Grammar is grounded in fundamental insights of modern linguistics and incorporates some of the latest achievements in the description of written and spoken Finnish. It gives a systematic account of the structures of the written language and offers increased attention to the key characteristics of present-day colloquial Finnish. No prior knowledge is assumed on the part of the reader and grammatical rules are clearly explained without jargon. Features of this new edition include: * pronunciation guide, including the tendencies in present-day colloquial Finnish * thorough descriptions of morphology (word structure) and syntax (sentence structure) * clear rules and an abundance of concrete examples, from both written and colloquial Finnish * updated vocabulary in the examples * an effective new scheme for detecting the morphological structure of any word form * subject index. This is the ideal reference source both for those studying Finnish independently and for students in schools, colleges, universities and adult classes of all types.
Finnish for Foreigners /
This practical course in modern Finnish was developed by Maija-Hellikki Aaltio, of the Helsinki University. The introductory level course uses two books: one provides transcripts of the Finnish dialogs with idiomatic English translations, notes on structural pattern and explanations of essential points of grammar; the other provides a variety of exercises with instructions in English.
본 강좌는 핀란드어 초급과정으로 핀란드어의 발음, 기초 어휘, 기초 문법은 물론 다양한 문장 유형과 동사구문들을 학습하는 것을 목표로 한다. 또한 실제 생활에 필요한 기초적인 수준의 회화 학습을 병행한다.
성경 히브리어 울판 / 본 교과목은 히브리어의 읽기, 쓰기, 독해의 기초를 훈련하며, 이와 함께 중동지역의 세계 문화사적 위치에 대한 기초적 시각을 제공한다. 따라서 단문 중심의 히브리어 텍스트 독해를 목표로 하며, 이와 함께 히브리어의 어휘, 텍스트에 반영된 유대인의 역사와 문화를 이해함으로써 유대민족의 언어와 문화의 관계를 탐구한다. 특히 현대의 히브리어가 고전 히브리어로부터 어떤 영향을 받았는지를 탐구한다.
Bilingual : Life and Reality /
Whether in family life, social interactions, or business negotiations, half the people in the world speak more than one language every day. Yet many myths persist about bilingualism and bilinguals. Does being bilingual mean you are equally fluent in two languages, or that you belong to two cultures, or even that you have multiple personalities? Can you become bilingual only as a child? Why do bilinguals switch from one language to another in mid-sentence? Will raising bilingual children confuse and delay their learning of any language? In a lively and often entertaining book, an international authority on bilingualism, son of an English mother and a French father, explores the many facets of bilingualism. In this book, François Grosjean draws on research, interviews, autobiographies, and the engaging examples of bilingual authors. He describes the various strategies--some useful, some not--used by parents raising bilingual children, explains how children easily pick up and forget languages, and considers how bilingualism affects the experience and expression of emotions, thoughts, and dreams. This book shows that speaking two or more languages is not a sign of intelligence, evasiveness, cultural alienation, or political disloyalty. For millions of people, it's simply a way of navigating the complexities of life.
An Introduction to Bilingualism: Principles and Processes /
The study of bilingualism and all of its aspects from theory and models to social approaches and their practical applications ¿ forms the cornerstone of the 2nd edition of this work. The chapters cover the latest advancements in the domains of psycholinguistics, neuroscience, creativity, and executive functioning. Contributions, new to this edition, offer the reader the most up-to-date research on lifespan and developmental issues. The work also provides insight into how human language is processed by all, not just by bilingual and multilingual speakers. This text is ideal for senior undergraduate and graduate courses in psycholinguistics and the psychology of language, especially those with an emphasis on bilingualism or second language learning.
Foundations of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism /
The sixth edition of this bestselling textbook has been substantially revised and updated to provide a comprehensive introduction to bilingualism and bilingual education in the 21st century. Written in a compact and clear style, the book covers all the crucial issues in bilingualism at individual, group and societal levels. Updates to the new edition include: * Greater attention to technological advances and global trends impacting and impacted by bilingualism. * New trends and issues in bilingual education, including recent research on the effectiveness of different types of bilingual education. * Issues in the assessment of bilinguals. * The latest thinking on identity and bilingualism. * Recent developments in brain imaging research. * Discussion of the latest terms in bilingualism research including dynamic bilingualism, translanguaging, transliteracy and superdiversity, in addition to an enhanced look at multilingualism. Students and instructors will benefit from new features including: * A comprehensive glossary. * A condensed and updated bibliography. * Updated international examples of policy, research and practice. * The addition of web resources and discussion questions. * Fully revised study activities and recommended reading.
An Introduction to Sociolinguistics /
In this best-selling introductory textbook, Janet Holmes and Nick Wilson examine the role of language in a variety of social contexts, considering both how language works and how it can be used to signal and interpret various aspects of social identity. Divided into three sections, this book explains basic sociolinguistic concepts in the light of classic approaches as well as introducing more recent research. This fifth edition has been revised and updated throughout using key concepts and examples to guide the reader through this fascinating area, including: a new chapter on identity that reflects the latest research; a brand new companion website which is fully cross-referenced within this book, and which includes and video and audio materials, interactive activities and links to useful websites; updated and revised examples and exercises which include new material from Tanzania, Wales, Paraguay and Timor-Leste; fully updated further reading and references sections. An Introduction to Sociolinguistics is the essential introductory text for all students of sociolinguistics and a splendid point of reference for students of English language studies, linguistics and applied linguistics.
본 강좌는 이중언어사용 현상의 언어학, 심리언어학, 신경언어학, 사회언어학적, 교육적 측면을 소개하는 것을 목표로 한다. ‘이중언어사용’의 정의와 측정, 이중언어 아동의 발달, 이중언어사용자의 언어 접촉 현상, 이중언어사용의 심리언어학적·신경언어학적 기초 지식, 이중/다중언어 사회의 사회언어학적 양상, 이중언어사용자의 교육과 언어 정책의 쟁점 등을 다룬다.
Speech and Language Processing / 인간언어에 대한 연구가 여러 가지 정보축적과 정보소통의 문제와 어떤 관련을 맺고 있는지를 소개한다. 인간의 자연언어와 컴퓨터의 인공언어의 공통점과 차이점을 이해한다. 언어정보의 자동처리 방법과 응용을 소개한다. 인간 언어에 대한 기초연구가 어떻게 음성인식, 음성합성 등의 음성정보 처리와 구문 분석, 의미정보 처리에 응용되며, 현대 정보사회의 발달을 위한 정보검색, 요약, 필터링, 그리고 기계번역 등에 적용되는지를 소개한다.
세계의 주요 언어들을 대상으로 계통론적 관점과 유형론적 관점에 입각하여 대조.비교함으로써, 언어의 보편적 특성과 개별적 특수성에 대한 새로운 인식을 높인다. 아울러 사회언어학적, 인류인어학적 관점에서 언어의 변화와 변이를 통한 언어의 다양성에 대해 이해한다.
Introductory Phonology /
Accessible, succinct, and including numerous student-friendlyfeatures, this introductory textbook offers an exceptionalfoundation to the field for those who are coming to it for thefirst time. Provides an ideal first course book in phonology, written by arenowned phonologist Developed and tested in the classroom through years ofexperience and use Emphasizes analysis of phonological data, placing this in itsscientific context, and explains the relevant methodology Guides students through the larger questions of whatphonological patterns reveal about language Includes numerous course-friendly features, includingmulti-part exercises and annotated suggestions for further readingat the end of each chapter
Understanding Phonology /
Understanding Phonology, Fourth Edition provides a clear, accessible and broad introduction to Phonology. Introducing basic concepts, it provides a comprehensive account of phonological issues such as segmental contrasts; syllables and moras; quantity, tone, intonation and stress; feature geometry; and prosodic constituent structure. This new edition has been reorganized and revised with key features including: A brand new eResource at www.routledge.com/9781138961425, which contains a full answer key for all exercises, and audio recordings of illustrative examples; Illustrations in languages from all six continents and all major language families, including Arabic, Mandarin, Finnish, Zulu and Hawaiian; Over 140 exercises to test understanding, including new exercises involving larger data sets; Revised coverage of tone, stress and opacity in OT. Understanding Phonology is essential reading for students coming to this topic for the first time.
A Course in Phonetics /
Offering the most current coverage available, A COURSE IN PHONETICS, 7e remains the authoritative text for the study of phonetics. Combining Peter Ladefoged's student-friendly writing style with Keith Johnson's comprehensive presentation, the Seventh Edition introduces concepts of speech production, describes speech in acoustic terms, and teaches practical phonetic skills including IPA transcription. Expanded sections on acoustic phonetics and speech motor control bring instructors up to date and help students use tools for digital inspection and manipulation of speech. Numerous updates include MRI images of vocal tracts. In addition, the thoroughly revised companion website includes interactive exercises, instant spectrograms for every chapter, over 4,000 audio files of nearly 100 languages, and maps keyed to sounds of languages where they are spoken. With its broad overview and numerous examples, A COURSE IN PHONETICS remains the ideal introduction to phonetics-no previous knowledge required!
음성학에 대한 지식을 기초로 하여 음운의 개념과 기본이론을 다루며, 나아가서 실제 자료를 다룸에 있어 음소 설정 및 음운체계를 분석할 수 있는 토대를 마련해 주는 데 그 목적이 있다. 이 강좌에서는 어느 특정 음운 이론을 집중 강의하기보다는 음운론이 역사가 오래된 분야인 만큼, 과거에서 현대에 이르기까지 각 학파에서 제시한 독자적인 이론들을 간략히 소개하며 아울러 그들에 의하여 사용되는 용어 및 중심 개념의 차이점을 병행 설명함으로써 이해를 돕는다. 이 강좌는 '역사비교언어학' 및 '언어분석'을 수강하기 위한 기초과목이다.
Principles and Methods for Historical Linguistics /
Intended for use in advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate courses, this text presents a wide survey of methodological procedures and theoretical positions.
Historical Linguistics /
Historical linguistics is the study of how and why language changes--both the methods of investigating language change and the theories designed to explain these changes. This highly accessible introductory text takes a hands-on, how-to approach, rather than just talking about the subject as many texts do. The book contains abundant examples both from familiar European languages, to make the topics accessible, and from a variety of non-European languages, to illustrate the depth and range of the concepts. The book also covers a number of essential topics neglected by most texts, including syntactic change, methods for investigating distant genetic relationship, linguistic prehistory, and grammaticalization.
Historical Linguistics /
Historical Linguistics provides a comprehensive and clearly written introduction to historical linguistic theory and methods. Since its first publication in 1962 the book has established itself as core reading for students of linguistics. This edition has been thoroughly revised. Drawing on recent linguistic and archaeological research Professor Lehmann incorporates key developments in the field. These include exciting advances in the history and development of writing: and in typological classification which allows better understanding of the structure of early languages. Well-illustrated with Indo-European examples, and supplementary exercises which draw on data from other language families as well, the book will enable students to carry out independent work in historical studies on any language family, as well as up-to-date work in Indo-European.
19세기부터 발전하기 시작한 역사비교언어학의 기본 개념을 다루며 아울러 언어변화의 여러 유형들을 설명하고 역사비교언어학에서의 문제점들을 제시한다. 이 강좌는 4학년 과정에 개설되어 있는 알타이어학과 인구어학의 이수를 위한 기초과목이다. 따라서, 이들 분야에 적용할 수 있는 초보적 방법론에 중점을 두고 강의한다. 또한 강의 후반부에서는 국어에 관련된 자료들을 직접 다루어 봄으로써 앞으로의 연구를 위한 기초를 다진다. 이 강좌를 이수하기 위한 기초 과목은 '음운론'이다.
Syntax: A Generative Introduction /
The extensively updated fourth edition of the leading introductory textbook on theoretical syntax, including an all-new chapter and additional problem sets Now in its fourth edition, Andrew Carnie's Syntax: A Generative Introduction remains the leading introduction to the rules, principles, and processes that determine the structure of sentences in language. Comprehensive yet accessible, the text provides a well-balanced, student-friendly introduction to syntactic theory. Topics include phrase structure, the lexicon, binding theory, case theory, movement, covert movement, locality conditions, ditransitives, verbal inflection and auxiliaries, ellipsis, control theory, non-configurational languages, and more. Students are provided with numerous exercises and pedagogical features designed to strengthen comprehension, review learning objectives, test knowledge, and highlight major issues in the field. The fourth edition features revised material throughout, including a new section on Chomsky's Merge and additional problem sets in every chapter, while new examples throughout the text broaden the appeal and relatability of the text to a more diverse set of students. The optional The Syntax Workbook: A Companion to Carnie's Syntax has also been thoroughly revised and expanded to offer students the opportunity to practice the skills and concepts introduced in the primary text. This classic textbook: Presents authoritative and comprehensive coverage of basic, intermediate, and advanced topics Includes ample exercises and clear explanations using straightforward language Offers extensive online student and instructor resources, including problem sets, PowerPoint slides, an updated instructor's manual, author-created videos, online-only chapters, and other supplementary material Features a wealth of learning tools, including learning objectives, discussion questions, and problems of varying levels of difficulty In the new fourth edition, Syntax: A Generative Introduction remains an essential textbook for beginning syntacticians, perfect for undergraduate and graduate course in linguistics, grammar, language, and second language teaching. Available as a set with The Syntax Workbook: A Companion to Carnie's Syntax, 2nd Edition
단어들의 결합에 의한 문장이나 구 절의 기능 및 구조를 분석하는 것을 목표로 한다. 이 강좌는 Chomsky를 중심으로 발전하고 있는 변형생성문법의 여러 이론들을 소개하고, 또한 여러 이론의 변화 배경 및 과정을 검토 비판한다. 최근에 와서는 통사론을 중심으로 문법을 기술하려는 주장이 강해지고 있는데, 이러한 여러 이론들의 특징과 장단점을 포괄적으로 살펴 본다. 또한 종래의 형태론에서 다루어 온 문제들을 통사론에서 어떻게 다루는지, 그리고 의미론과의 관계는 어떠한지를 함께 탐구한다.
Introducing Sociolinguistics /
This second edition of Miriam Meyerhoff's highly successful textbook is supported by the Routledge Sociolinguistics Readerand online resources common to both books. It provides a solid, up-to-date appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of the field covering foundation issues, recent advances and current debates. It presents familiar or classic data in new ways, and supplements the familiar with fresh examples from a wide range of languages and social settings. It clearly explains the patterns and systems that underlie language variation in use, as well as the ways in which alternations between different language varieties index personal style, social power and national identity. New features of the second edition: a wider range of approaches to politeness theory incorporating an international range of research expanded sections on multi-lingualism and code-switching, social class, dialect contact and tracking change over time linkage to the new Routledge Sociolinguistics Readerwhich can be used alongside this textbook, allowing students to supplement and build on material covered in the textbook. a shared website serving both Reader and Textbook which includes web- and video-links, interactive exercises and an expanded online glossary at: www.routledge.com/textbooks/meyerhoff a refreshed text design to assist navigation through textbook and reader. Each chapter includes exercises that enable readers to engage critically with the text, break-out boxes making connections between sociolinguistics and linguistic or social theory, and brief, lively add-ons guaranteed to make the book a memorable and enjoyable read. With a full glossary of terms and suggestions for further reading, this text gives students all the tools they need for an excellent command of sociolinguistics.
The Guidebook to Sociolinguistics /
The Guidebook to Sociolinguistics presents a comprehensive introduction to the main concepts and terms of sociolinguistics, and of the goals, methods, and findings of sociolinguistic research. Introduces readers to the methodology and skills of doing hands-on research in this field Features chapter-by-chapter classic and contemporary case studies, exercises, and examples to enhance comprehension Offers wide-ranging coverage of topics across sociolinguistics. It begins with multilingualism, and moves on through language choice and variation to style and identity Takes students through the challenges involved in conducting their own research project Written by one of the leading figures in sociolinguistics
An Introduction to Sociolinguistics /
In this best-selling introductory textbook, Janet Holmes and Nick Wilson examine the role of language in a variety of social contexts, considering both how language works and how it can be used to signal and interpret various aspects of social identity. Divided into three sections, this book explains basic sociolinguistic concepts in the light of classic approaches as well as introducing more recent research. This fifth edition has been revised and updated throughout using key concepts and examples to guide the reader through this fascinating area, including: a new chapter on identity that reflects the latest research; a brand new companion website which is fully cross-referenced within this book, and which includes and video and audio materials, interactive activities and links to useful websites; updated and revised examples and exercises which include new material from Tanzania, Wales, Paraguay and Timor-Leste; fully updated further reading and references sections. An Introduction to Sociolinguistics is the essential introductory text for all students of sociolinguistics and a splendid point of reference for students of English language studies, linguistics and applied linguistics.
사회언어학은 언어의 사회 변이를 통해 언어 다양성을 이해하는 학문이다. 따라서 이 강의는 먼저 사회언어학의 성립 배경과 그 언어학적 의의를 살펴보고, 지금까지 연구된 사회언어학적 연구 결과를 개괄적으로 다룬다. 그리하여 언어 구조 및 언어 사용이 화자 또한 그가 속해 있는 집단의 사회와 어떤 관계가 있으며, 또한 그러한 관계는 어떻게 체계화시킬 수 있는가를 모색한다.
Handbook of Descriptive Linguistic Fieldwork /
The Handbook of Descriptive Linguistic Fieldwork is the most comprehensive reference on linguistic fieldwork on the market bringing together all the reader needs to carry out successful linguistic fieldwork. Based on the experiences of two veteran linguistic fieldworkers and advice from more than a twenty active fieldwork researchers, this handbook provides an encyclopedic review of current publications on linguistic fieldwork and surveys past and present approaches and solutions to problems in the field, and the historical, political, and social variables correlating with fieldwork in different areas of the world. The discussion of the ethical dimensions of fieldwork, as well as what constitutes the "typical" linguistic fieldwork setting or consultant is explored from multiple perspectives relevant to fieldwork on every continent. Included is information omitted in most other texts on the subject such as the collection, representation, management, and methods of extracting grammatical information from discourse and conversational data as well as the relationship between questionnaire-based elicitation, text-based elicitation, and philology, and the need for combinations of these methods. The book is useful before, during and after linguistic field trips since it provides extensive practical macro and micro organization and planning fieldwork tips as well as a handy sketch of major typological features for use in linguistic analysis. Comprehensive references are provided at the end of each chapter as resources relevant to the reader's particular interests.
실제 발화 현장에 나가 언어자료를 수집하고 분석함으로써 이론을 통해 습득한 언어 원리를 적용해보는 교과목이다. 이를 토대로 학생들은 방언학적, 역사-비교 언어학적 이론의 실재를 경험하게 된다.
English Intonation: An Introduction /
Intonation - the rise and fall of pitch in our voices - plays a crucial role in how we express meaning. This accessible introduction shows students how to recognize and reproduce the intonation patterns of English, providing clear explanations of what they mean and how they are used. It looks in particular at three key functions of intonation - to express our attitude, to structure our messages to one another, and to focus attention on particular parts of what we are saying. An invaluable guide to how English intonation works, it is complete with extensive exercises, drills and practice material, encouraging students to produce and understand the intonation patterns for themselves. The accompanying CD contains a wealth of spoken examples, clearly demonstrating English intonation in context. Drawing on the perspectives of both language teaching and linguistics, this textbook will be welcomed by both learners of English, and beginning undergraduates in phonetics and linguistics.
이 강좌에서는 음성학적 지식이 어떤 분야에서 응용될 수 있는지 논의된다. 최근 들어 활발하게 논의되고 있는 한국어와 영어 표준발음 교육과 관련된 언어교수법, 언어활동의 장애(예를 들어 실어증과 같은) 요인과 그 치료를 연구하는 언어 치료 방법론 모색이 주요 강의 내용이 되며, 이밖에도 언어정책이나 음성정보처리 분야에서 음성학적 지식을 어떻게 응용할 수 있는지 모색한다.
Speech and Language Processing / 이 강좌는 언어학의 응용분야로 인간이 쓰는 언어가 컴퓨터에서 어떻게 처리되는지 다룬다. 인간 언어가 지닌 음성, 형태, 통사, 의미적인 측면이 정보처리 관점에서 음성합성, 음성인식, 형태분석, 구문분석, 의미처리 등과 관련하여 어떻게 구현되는지 살펴보며, 실제로 음성합성기, 음성인식기, 정보검색시스템이나 기계번역기 등 상용화된 시스템 구축방법에 대해서도 살펴본다. 또한 대량의 자료를 수집하고 처리하는 코퍼스도 논의하여, 한국어 정보처리를 위한 기초자료 구축도 병행한다. 이 과목은 이론적인 방법론뿐만 아니라 실제처리에도 많은 초점이 맞추어지기 때문에 컴퓨터 프로그래밍 학습을 통하여 시스템 구축이나 자료를 처리하는 실습도 병행한다.
Pragmatics /
Yan Huang's highly successful textbook on pragmatics - the study of language in use - has been fully revised and updated in this second edition. It includes a brand new chapter on reference, a major topic in both linguistics and the philosophy of language. Chapters have also been updated toinclude new material on upward and downward entailment, current debates about conversational implicature, impoliteness, emotional deixis, contextualism versus semantic minimalism, and the elimination of binding conditions.The book draws on data from English and a wide range of the world's languages, and shows how pragmatics is related to the study of semantics, syntax, and sociolinguistics and to such fields as the philosophy of language, linguistic anthropology, and artificial intelligence. Professor Huang includesexercises and essay topics at the end of each chapter, and offers guidance and suggested solutions at the end of the volume. Written by one of the leading scholars in the field, this new edition will continue to be an ideal textbook for students of linguistics, and a valuable resource for scholarsand students of language in philosophy, psychology, anthropology, and computer science.
언어와 그 사용 맥락의 상관성을 탐구한다. 의미론이 문장의 의미를 진리조건으로 다루는데 비해, 화용론은 문장의 의미와 맥락의 상호 작용을 설명한다. 담화 맥락은 (1) 담화상에 드러난 언어적 맥락, (2) 시공간의 물리적 맥락, 그리고 (3) 일반 지식 및 사회적 맥락을 포괄한다. 전제와 함축에 의한 추론의 설명, 발화 행위의 역학적 적정조건, 지시 표현의 맥락 해석, 대화 및 담화 구조, 언어표현에 나타난 사회-문화 구조적 해석, 대중 매체의 담화 해석 등이 화용론의 주요 주제들이다.
Data Analysis Using Regression and Multilevel/Hierarchical Models /
Data Analysis Using Regression and Multilevel/Hierarchical Models, first published in 2007, is a comprehensive manual for the applied researcher who wants to perform data analysis using linear and nonlinear regression and multilevel models. The book introduces a wide variety of models, whilst at the same time instructing the reader in how to fit these models using available software packages. The book illustrates the concepts by working through scores of real data examples that have arisen from the authors' own applied research, with programming codes provided for each one. Topics covered include causal inference, including regression, poststratification, matching, regression discontinuity, and instrumental variables, as well as multilevel logistic regression and missing-data imputation. Practical tips regarding building, fitting, and understanding are provided throughout.
Research Methods in Linguistics /
A comprehensive guide to conducting research projects in linguistics, this book provides a complete training in state-of-the-art data collection, processing, and analysis techniques. The book follows the structure of a research project, guiding the reader through the steps involved in collecting and processing data, and providing a solid foundation for linguistic analysis. All major research methods are covered, each by a leading expert. Rather than focusing on narrow specializations, the text fosters interdisciplinarity, with many chapters focusing on shared methods such as sampling, experimental design, transcription and constructing an argument. Highly practical, the book offers helpful tips on how and where to get started, depending on the nature of the research question. The only book that covers the full range of methods used across the field, this student-friendly text is also a helpful reference source for the more experienced researcher and current practitioner.
Essentials of Behavioral Research /
This classic advanced undergraduate/graduate text in research methods requires statistics as a prerequisite. The first half of the text concentrates on research methods and the second half introduces students to advanced statistical procedures.
본 교과목은 실험 방법론을 이용하여 인간의 언어를 연구하는 방법을 가르치는 강좌이다. 학생들에게 현대 언어학에서 중요하게 부상한 실험연구 방법론들을 소개하고, 랩 실습을 통하여 실제로 실험연구를 구현하고 통계적으로 분석해 보도록 지도한다. 본 교과목에서는 실험연구와 관련된 이론 수업과 실습수업을 병행하며, 언어학의 하위 분야(음성, 음운, 형태, 통사, 의미, 언어처리 및 발화)를 연구하는데 활용되는 다양한 실험연구 방법들을 소개한다. 본 강좌는 언어학 및 개별 어학에 관심이 있는 학생들에게 실험언어학의 기초 지식을 제공하고, 이를 개별 연구에 활용할 수 능력을 함양하는 데 그 목표를 둔다.
First Language Acquisition /
How do young children learn language? When does this process start? What does language acquisition involve? Children are exposed to language from birth, surrounded by knowledgeable speakers who offer feedback and provide extensive practice every day. Through conversation and joint activities, children master the language being used around them. This fully revised third edition of Eve V. Clark's bestselling textbook offers comprehensive coverage of language acquisition, from a baby's first sounds to a child's increasing skill in negotiating, explaining and entertaining with language. This book, drawing together the most recent findings in the field, and illustrated with examples from a wide range of experimental and observational studies, including the author's own diary observations, presents an essential and comprehensive guide to first language acquisition. It will be fascinating reading for students of linguistics, developmental psychology and cognitive science.
Language Development /
Erika Hoff's LANGUAGE DEVELOPMENT, 5th Edition communicates both the content and the excitement of this quickly evolving field. By presenting a balanced treatment that examines all sides of the issues, Hoff helps readers understand different theoretical points of view-- and the research processes that have lead theorists to their findings. After an overview and history of the field, Hoff thoroughly covers the biological bases of language development and the core topics of phonological, lexical, and syntactic development. She also provides in-depth discussions of the communicative foundations of language, the development of communicative competence, language development in special populations, childhood bilingualism, and language development in the school years. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
How Children Learn Language /
Adults tend to take language for granted - until they have to learn a new one. Then they realize how difficult it is to get the pronunciation right, to acquire the meaning of thousands of new words, and to learn how those words are put together to form sentences. Children, however, have mastered language before they can tie their shoes. In this engaging and accessible book, William O'Grady explains how this happens, discussing how children learn to produce and distinguish among sounds, their acquisition of words and meanings, and their mastery of the rules for building sentences. How Children Learn Language provides readers with a highly readable overview not only of the language acquisition process itself, but also of the ingenious experiments and techniques that researchers use to investigate his mysterious phenomenon. It will be of great interest to anyone - parent or student - wishing to find out how children acquire language.
Child Language: Acquisition and Growth /
The remarkable way in which young children acquire language has long fascinated linguists and developmental psychologists alike. Language is a skill that we have essentially mastered by the age of three, and with incredible ease and speed, despite the complexity of the task. This accessible textbook introduces the field of child language acquisition, exploring language development from birth. Setting out the key theoretical debates, it considers questions such as what characteristics of the human mind make it possible to acquire language; how far acquisition is biologically programmed and how far it is influenced by our environment; what makes second language learning (in adulthood) different from first language acquisition; and whether the specific stages in language development are universal across languages. Clear and comprehensive, it is set to become a key text for all courses in child language acquisition, within linguistics, developmental psychology and cognitive science.
본 교과목은 인간의 언어 습득 능력을 설명하는 이론과 이와 관련된 논쟁을 소개한다. 영유아와 아동의 언어 습득 과정을, 소리, 어휘, 의미, 문법, 화용 습득으로 나누어 그 자세한 과정과 원리에 대해 탐구하며, 이와 더불어 이중 언어 발달에 대하여도 함께 다룬다. 또한 본 교과목에서는 언어 습득 연구에 사용되는 연구 방법을 탐구할 뿐만 아니라, 다양한 언어 습득 데이터를 직접 분석하면서 언어 습득 연구에 대한 실질적인 경험을 쌓는 것을 목표로 한다. 언어 습득의 세부 주제는 음성학, 음운론, 형태론, 의미론, 통사론 등 언어학의 주요 하위 분야와 밀접하게 관련되어 있으며, 언어 이론의 주요 쟁점들과 직접적으로 연관된다.