| 108.518 | 음성학연구 1 | |
| 108.519 | 음운론연구 1 | |
| 108.520 | 통사론연구 1 | |
| 108.521 | 의미론연구 1 | |
| 108.522 | 역사비교언어학연구 1 | |
| 108.523A | 실험음성학연구 | |
| 108.525A | 알타이어학연구 | |
| 108.526A | 인구어학연구 | |
| 108.528 | 사회언어학연구 | |
| 108.530 | 언어이론연습 | |
| 108.532A | 음성학연습 | |
| 108.534 | 통사의미론연습 | |
| 108.535A | 컴퓨터언어학연구 1 | |
| 108.536A | 컴퓨터언어학연구 2 | |
| 108.538 | 특수언어연습 1 | |
| 108.539 | 특수언어연습 2 | |
| 108.611 | 화용론연구 | |
| 108.612 | 방언학연구 | |
| 108.613 | 언어학사연구 | |
| 108.619 | 심리언어학연구 | |
| 108.620 | 음운론연습 | |
| 108.625A | 음성언어처리연구 1 | |
| 108.626 | 음성언어처리연구 2 | |
| 108.703 | 형태론연구 | |
| 108.716 | 음성학연구 2 | |
| 108.717 | 음운론연구 2 | |
| 108.718 | 통사론연구 2 | |
| 108.719 | 의미론연구 2 | |
| 108.720 | 역사비교언어학연구 2 | |
| 108.725A | 역사비교언어학연습 | |
| 108.727 | 언어유형론연구 | |
| 108.730 | 통사의미론연습 2 | |
| 108.732 | 컴퓨터언어학연습 | |
| 108.733 | 음성언어처리연습 | |
| M1246.000700 | 알타이언어학연구 | |
| M1246.001100 | 실험언어학연습 |
Diagnosing Syntax /
Diagnosis is an essential part of scientific research. It refers to the process of identifying a phenomenon, property, or condition on the basis of certain signs and by the use of various diagnostic procedures. This book is the first ever to consider the use of diagnostics in syntacticresearch and focuses on the five core domains of natural language syntax - ellipsis, agreement, anaphora, phrasal movement, and head movement. Each empirical domain is considered in turn from the perspectives of syntax, syntax at the interfaces, neuropsycholinguistics, and language diversity.Drawing on the expertise of 20 leading scholars and their empirically rich data, the book presents current thoughts on, and practical answers to, the question: What are the diagnostic signs, techniques and procedures that can be used to analyse natural language syntax? It will interest linguists,including formalists, typologists, psycholinguists and neurolinguists.
Core Syntax: A Minimalist Approach /
This is an introduction to the structure of sentences in human languages. It assumes no prior knowledge of linguistic theory and little of elementary grammar. It will suit students coming to syntactic theory for the first time either as graduates or undergraduates. It will also be useful forthose in fields such as computational science, artificial intelligence, or cognitive psychology who need a sound knowledge of current syntactic theory.Sentences in human languages are not just collections of random sounds with associated meanings. They involve a host of intriguing phenomena including constraints on possible word orders and the establishment of relationships between words and phrases which affect both phonological form andmeaning. David Adger leads the reader in easy stages through the development of an approach which explains how these phenomena work. This approach is based on ideas from Noam Chomsky's Minimalist Programme - notably the derivational nature of the linguistic system, the interpretability of syntacticfeatures, and the reduction of syntactic operations to Merge and Move. These ideas are explained in clear, simple terms, backed up with examples and diagrams. The book emphasizes the importance of cross-linguistic evidence in the development of syntactic arguments. Above all it demonstrates thevalue of building a consistent theoretical system via repeated processes of hypothesis testing and evaluation.Exercises are provided at key points through the book. The book may be used as part of a course or for self-tuition. It offers a sound basis for advanced work in linguistics and related fields.
Understanding Minimalism /
Understanding Minimalism, first published in 2005, is an introduction to the Minimalist Program - the model of syntactic theory within generative linguistics. Accessibly written, it presents the basic principles and techniques of the minimalist program, looking firstly at analyses within Government and Binding Theory (the Minimalist Program's predecessor), and gradually introducing minimalist alternatives. Minimalist models of grammar are presented in a step-by-step fashion, and the ways in which they contrast with GB analyses are clearly explained. Spanning a decade of minimalist thinking, this textbook will enable students to develop a feel for the sorts of questions and problems that minimalism invites, and to master the techniques of minimalist analysis. Over 100 exercises are provided, encouraging them to put these skills into practice. Understanding Minimalism will be an invaluable text for intermediate and advanced students of syntactic theory, and will set a solid foundation for further study and research within Chomsky's minimalist framework.
The Handbook of Contemporary Syntactic Theory /
This volume provides a comprehensive view of the current issues incontemporary syntactic theory. Written by an international assemblyof leading specialists in the field, these 2 original articlesserve as a useful reference for various areas of grammar. Contains 23 articles written by an international assembly ofspecialists in the field. The lucidly written articles grant accessibility to crucialareas of syntactic theory. Contrasting theories are represented. Contains an informative introduction and extensive bibliographywhich serves as a reference tool for both students and professionallinguists.
Syntax: A Generative Introduction /
The extensively updated fourth edition of the leading introductory textbook on theoretical syntax, including an all-new chapter and additional problem sets Now in its fourth edition, Andrew Carnie's Syntax: A Generative Introduction remains the leading introduction to the rules, principles, and processes that determine the structure of sentences in language. Comprehensive yet accessible, the text provides a well-balanced, student-friendly introduction to syntactic theory. Topics include phrase structure, the lexicon, binding theory, case theory, movement, covert movement, locality conditions, ditransitives, verbal inflection and auxiliaries, ellipsis, control theory, non-configurational languages, and more. Students are provided with numerous exercises and pedagogical features designed to strengthen comprehension, review learning objectives, test knowledge, and highlight major issues in the field. The fourth edition features revised material throughout, including a new section on Chomsky's Merge and additional problem sets in every chapter, while new examples throughout the text broaden the appeal and relatability of the text to a more diverse set of students. The optional The Syntax Workbook: A Companion to Carnie's Syntax has also been thoroughly revised and expanded to offer students the opportunity to practice the skills and concepts introduced in the primary text. This classic textbook: Presents authoritative and comprehensive coverage of basic, intermediate, and advanced topics Includes ample exercises and clear explanations using straightforward language Offers extensive online student and instructor resources, including problem sets, PowerPoint slides, an updated instructor's manual, author-created videos, online-only chapters, and other supplementary material Features a wealth of learning tools, including learning objectives, discussion questions, and problems of varying levels of difficulty In the new fourth edition, Syntax: A Generative Introduction remains an essential textbook for beginning syntacticians, perfect for undergraduate and graduate course in linguistics, grammar, language, and second language teaching. Available as a set with The Syntax Workbook: A Companion to Carnie's Syntax, 2nd Edition
The Minimalist Program /
A classic work that situates linguistic theory in the broader cognitive sciences, formulating and developing the minimalist program. In his foundational book, The Minimalist Program, published in 1995, Noam Chomsky offered a significant contribution to the generative tradition in linguistics. This twentieth-anniversary edition reissues this classic work with a new preface by the author. In four essays, Chomsky attempts to situate linguistic theory in the broader cognitive sciences, with the essays formulating and progressively developing the minimalist approach to linguistic theory. Building on the theory of principles and parameters and, in particular, on principles of economy of derivation and representation, the minimalist framework takes Universal Grammar as providing a unique computational system, with derivations driven by morphological properties, to which the syntactic variation of languages is also restricted. Within this theoretical framework, linguistic expressions are generated by optimally efficient derivations that must satisfy the conditions that hold on interface levels, the only levels of linguistic representation. The interface levels provide instructions to two types of performance systems, articulatory-perceptual and conceptual-intentional. All syntactic conditions, then, express properties of these interface levels, reflecting the interpretive requirements of language and keeping to very restricted conceptual resources. In the preface to this edition, Chomsky emphasizes that the minimalist approach developed in the book and in subsequent work "is a program, not a theory." With this book, Chomsky built on pursuits from the earliest days of generative grammar to formulate a new research program that had far-reaching implications for the field.
Thinking Syntactically: A Guide to Argumentation and Analysis /
Thinking Syntactically: A Guide to Argumentation andAnalysis is a textbook designed to teach introductory studentsthe skills of relating data to theory and theory to data. Helps students develop their thinking and argumentation skillsrather than merely introducing them to one particular version ofsyntactic theory. Structured around a wide range of exercises that use clear andcompelling logic to build arguments and lead up to theoreticalproposals. Data drawn from current media sources, including newspapers,books, and television programs, to help students formulate and testhypotheses. Generative in spirit, but does not focus on specifictheoretical approaches but enables students to understand andevaluate different approaches more easily. Written by an established author with an internationalreputation.
구조주의적 접근에서부터 최근의 형식문법에 이르기까지 통사론의 연구 방법론에 대한 전반적인 이해를 목표로 한다. 특히 근래 활발하게 연구되고 있는 생성문법의 여러 통사이론(GB, GPSG, LFG, HPSG 등)을 비교하고 실제 언어자료에의 응용을 꾀한다. 또한 문법 전반에서의 의미론과의 관련성을 파악하고, 타당성 있는 새로운 통사이론의 정립을 모색한다.
컴퓨터언어학 또는 자연언어처리의 기본 개념에서부터 시작하여 구문분석 및 의미분석의 기초단계에 이르는 주제에 관해서 연구한다. 이를 위한 기본적인 확률 및 통계에 관한 수학적 내용과 언어학 기본적인 내용도 처음에 다루어진다. 그러기 위하여 언어학 전공 전반에 걸쳐서 도움이 되는 수학적 기초 개념들을 쉽게 파악할 수 있도록 제공한다. 구체적으로 논리학 및 형식언어론의 수학적 기초 개념, 확률, 통계 및 정보이론 개요, 영역 특징 분석방법 등을 강의하며, 이것들을 통하여 컴퓨터언어학에 필요한 기초를 제공한다.
언어학의 연구 대상과 연구방법의 역사적인 흐름을 파악하여 언어학에 대한 거시적 안목을 습득하는 것에서 더 나아가, 고대로부터 현대에 이르기까지 각 시대의 언어 이론의 특징을 검토하여, 언어학사를 심도 있게 이해한다. 또한 시대별 각 학파의 연구 경향과 중심학자들에 대하여 그 이론적 배경과 영향을 집중적으로 연구한다.
Intonational Phonology /
This second edition presents a completely revised overview of research on intonational phonology since the 1970s, including new material on research developments since the mid 1990s. It contains a new section discussing the research on the alignment of pitch features that has developed since the first edition was published, a substantially rewritten section on ToBI transcription that takes account of the application of ToBI principles to other languages, and new sections on the phonetic research on accent and focus. The substantive chapters on the analysis and transcription of pitch contours, pitch range, sentence stress and prosodic structure have been reorganised and updated. In addition, there is an associated website with sound files of the example sentences discussed in the book. This well-known study will continue to appeal to researchers and graduate students who work on any aspect of intonation.
이 교과목은 '음운론연구 1'(108.519)의 교과목 내용을 기초로 이론의 확대적용 및 발전을 좀더 깊이 있게 모색한다.
The Roots of Verbal Meaning /
This book explores possible and impossible word meanings, with a specific focus on the meanings of verbs. John Beavers and Andrew Koontz-Garboden adopt the now common view that verb meanings consist at least partly of an event structure, made up of two elements: an event template describing the verb's broad temporal and causal contours, which occurs across lots of verbs and groups them into semantic and grammatical classes; and an idiosyncratic root describing specific, real world states and actions that distinguish between verbs with the same template. While much work has focused on templates, less work has addressed the truth-conditional contributions of roots, despite the importance of a theory of root meaning in fully defining the predictions made by event structural approaches. This book aims to address this gap by exploring two previously proposed constraints on root meaning: The Bifurcation Thesis of Roots, whereby roots never introduce the meanings introduced by templates, and Manner/Result Complementarity, which specifies that roots can describe either a manner or a result state but never both at the same time. Two extended case studies, on change-of-state verbs and ditransitive verbs of caused possession, show that neither hypothesis holds, and that ultimately there may be no constraints on what a root can mean. Nonetheless, the book argues that event structures still have predictive value: it presents a new theory of possible root meanings and their interaction with event templates that produces a new typology of possible verbs, in which systematic semantic and grammatical properties are determined not just by templates, but also by roots.
Word Meaning and Syntax: Approaches to the Interface /
This book examines the nature of the interface between word meaning and syntax, one of the most controversial and elusive issues in contemporary linguistics. It approaches the interface from both sides of the relation, and surveys a range of views on the mapping between them, with an emphasis on lexical approaches to argument structure. Stephen Wechsler begins by analysing the fundamental problem of word meaning, with discussions of vagueness and polysemy, complemented with a look at the roles of world knowledge and normative aspects of word meaning. He then surveys the argument-taking properties of verbs and other predicators, and presents key theories of lexical semantic structure. Later chapters provide a description of formal theories and frameworks for capturing the mapping from word meaning to syntactic structure, as well as arguments in favour of a lexicalist approach to argument structure. The book will interest scholars of theoretical linguistics, particularly in the fields of syntax and lexical semantics, as well as those interested in psycholinguistics and philosophy of language.
Argument Realization /
The relationship between verbs and their arguments is a widely debated topic in linguistics. This comprehensive 2005 survey provides an overview of this important area of research, exploring theories of how a verb's semantics can determine the morphosyntactic realization of its arguments. Assuming a close connection between verb meaning and syntactic structure, it provides a bridge between lexical-semantic and syntactic research, synthesizing the results of work from a range of linguistic subdisciplines and in a variety of theoretical frameworks. The first four chapters survey leading theories about event structure and conceptualization. The fifth and sixth chapters focus on the mapping from lexical semantics to morphosyntax and include a detailed discussion of the thematic hierarchy. The final chapter reviews treatments of multiple argument realization. With useful bibliographic references and clear definitions of relevant terms, this book will be invaluable to students and researchers in syntax and semantics, as well as those in related fields.
The Generative Lexicon /
The Generative Lexicon presents a theory of lexical semantics that addresses the problem of the multiplicity of word meaning; that is, how we are able to give an infinite number of senses to words with finite means. This formally elaborated theory of a generative approach to word meaning lays the foundation for an implemented computational treatment of word meaning that connects explicitly to a compositional semantics.
English Verb Classes and Alternations /
In this rich reference work, Beth Levin classifies over 3,000 English verbs according to shared meaning and behavior. Levin starts with the hypothesis that a verb's meaning influences its syntactic behavior and develops it into a powerful tool for studying the English verb lexicon. She shows how identifying verbs with similar syntactic behavior provides an effective means of distinguishing semantically coherent verb classes, and isolates these classes by examining verb behavior with respect to a wide range of syntactic alternations that reflect verb meaning. The first part of the book sets out alternate ways in which verbs can express their arguments. The second presents classes of verbs that share a kernel of meaning and explores in detail the behavior of each class, drawing on the alternations in the first part. Levin's discussion of each class and alternation includes lists of relevant verbs, illustrative examples, comments on noteworthy properties, and bibliographic references. The result is an original, systematic picture of the organization of the verb inventory. Easy to use, English Verb Classes and Alternations sets the stage for further explorations of the interface between lexical semantics and syntax. It will prove indispensable for theoretical and computational linguists, psycholinguists, cognitive scientists, lexicographers, and teachers of English as a second language.
Semantic Structures /
Semantic Structures is a large-scale study of conceptual structure and its lexical and syntactic expression in English that builds on the system of Conceptual Semantics described in Ray Jackendoff's earlier books Semantics and Cognition and Consciousness and the Computational Mind. Jackendoff summarizes the relevant arguments in his two previous books, setting out the basic parameters for the formalization of meaning, and comparing his mentalistic approach with Fodor's Language of Thought hypothesis. He then takes up the Problem of Meaning, extending the range of semantic fields encompassed by the Conceptual Semantics formalism, and the Problem of Correspondence, formalizing the relation between semantic and syntactic structure. Both of these problems must be fully addressed in order to develop a general theory of language that is concerned with syntax and semantics and their points of connection. Few books on lexical semantics present such a comprehensive analysis of such a wide range of phenomena from a unified perspective. Besides discussing the conceptual structures of hundreds of words and constructions, Jackendoff extends and deepens the theory to come to grips with such crucial issues as -roles and -marking; arguments, modifiers, and adjuncts; binding and control; and the thematic linking hierarchy. Ray Jackendoff is Chairman of the Program in Linguistics and Cognitive Science at Brandeis University.
이 교과목은 '의미론연구 1'(108.521)의 교과목 내용을 기초로 이론의 확대적용 및 발전을 좀더 깊이 있게 모색한다.
이 과목에서는 컴퓨터 언어학/자연언어처리의 최신 동향과 이론에 대해 살펴 본다. 구문분석, 의미분석, 온톨로지 등의 이론에서부터 정보검색, 기계번역, 지식기반 시스템 등에 이르기까지 최신 연구를 주제별로 다루도록 한다.
Introduction to Altaic Linguistics /
The "Introduction to Altaic Linguistics" is designed as a manual for university students. The first part gives a survey of the Altaic languages, i.e., Mongolian, Manchu-Tungus, Chuvash-Turkic and Korean, and a classification of the Altaic languages and classifications of languages within each family. The second part presents a brief outline of the history of studying Altaic linguistics. It also contains a number of bibliographical data and bibliographies of famous scholars. The third part gives a brief history of the Altaic theory. The subsequent portions of the book deal with problems of mutual influences of the Altaic languages (e.g., the Turkic influence of Mongolian), Altaic influences in non-Altaic languages (e.g., the Turkic influence on Sayan-Samoyed, or Mari), non-Altaic influences in Altaic languages (e.g. Sogdian elements in Turkic), and structural features common to all Altaic languages.
The Green Book of Language Revitalization in Practice /
With world-wide environmental destruction and globalization of economy, a few languages, especially English, are spreading rapidly in use, while thousands of other languages are disappearing, taking with them important cultural, philosophical and environmental knowledge systems and oral literatures. We all stand to suffer from such a loss, none more so than the communities whose very identity is being threatened by the impending death of their languages. In response to this crisis, indigenous communities around the world have begun to develop a myriad of projects to keep their languages alive. This volume is a set of detailed accounts about the kind of work that is going on now as people struggle for their linguistic survival. It also serves as a manual of effective practices in language revitalization.Following are the key features: 23 case studies of language revitalization in practice, from Native American languages, Australian languages, Maori, Hawaiian, Welsh, Irish, and others, written primarily by authors directly involved in the programs; short introductions situate the languages, to help make the languages more 'real' in the minds of readers; each chapter gives a detailed overview of the various kinds of programs and methods in practice today; introductions and maps for each of the languages represented familiarize the reader with their history, linguistic structure and sociolinguistic features; and, strong representation in authorship and viewpoint of the people and communities whose languages are threatened, gives the readers an inside understanding of the issues involved and the community-internal attitudes toward language loss and revitalization. This book was previously published by Academic Press under ISBN 978-01-23-49354-5.
비교언어학에 대한 지식을 전제로 하며, 알타이언어에 속하는 만주퉁구스어파, 몽골어파, 터키어파에 관해서 개관하고 비교언어학적 관점에서 이들 어파간의 관계에 대해서 고찰한다. 알타이어족 가설과 반알타이어족 가설에 대해서 논의한다. 그리고 한국어와 알타이어의 관계에 대한 기존 제학설을 검토하고 아울러 인구어 비교언어학에서 얻어진 방법론이 알타이제어에 어떻게 적용될 수 있는가 하는 문제와 그 타당성 여부를 검토한다.
